SJSU Research Guides: PH 172 / PH 265: Environmental Health: Find Peer Reviewed Articles

Find Peer Reviewed Articles

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Searches MEDLINE, the leading database of journal articles in the health sciences, including medicine, nursing, the allied health sciences, public health, and the basic sciences. Coverage is 1946 - present.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and ebooks in science, technology and medicine (STM), arts, humanities and social sciences. Click on "Journals and Books" link on the website to filter by subscribed, open access and complimentary access to know what is available to you. Note: You may see a screen from Elsevier asking: “Are you a Human”. It's okay to click on the box. It's a verification process to prevent automated traffic (BOTS) from abusing excessive downloads of PDFs.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
This abstract and citation database covers thousands of scholarly journals, books, and conference proceedings. Covering a broad range of disciplines, Scopus enables one to track, analyze, and visualize research. Output data at the institutional and author levels are available. Authors will find h-index, Source Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP), and citation counts helpful in demonstrating the impact of their work.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
1300+ full-text journals available to support nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This resource also provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheet and quick lesson disease overviews, and continuing education modules.
cinhal
GreenFile This link opens in a new window
The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records. It draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Scholarly literature search engine. Set your library preferences: On the Google Scholar homepage, go to Scholar Preferences. At Library Links, locate San Jose State University. Add those links, then save the preferences.

Accessing toxicology literature from PubMed
Learn how to use PubMed to access Toxicology Literature.

Use keywords to search in a database

Search by topic/keyword:

First, identify keywords or related keywords (synonyms) to your topic or issue.

Will you be looking into a specific toxin or toxic issue (pesticide)?

or are you interested in researching a toxic exposure site (Richmond Oil Refinery)?

Who is the vulnerable population? (Due to location, socioeconomic status, educational status, race, ethnicity, communication barriers, etc.) What keywords will you use to describe that community?

An example of a broad search would be (pesticides AND farmworker)

More specific (pesticides AND pregnancy AND fetus AND Hispanic)

Potential Topics to explore:

Toxic Waste
Smog
Landfills
Asbestos
Lead Poisoning
Pesticide
Oil Refinery

Some additional Keywords to use in your search if you are starting broad

Environmental Health
Occupational Environmental Hazard/Exposure
Environmental Exposure
Environmental Justice
Environmental Pollution
Poverty Areas
Race Factors
Social Environment
Social Justice
Socioeconomic Factors
Specific ethnic or cultural groups: Chicanos, African Americans, Japanese Americans, etc.
Specific geographic localities: San Jose, California, etc

PH 172 / PH 265: Environmental Health

Environmental Health Perspectives. Journal Articles

Find Peer Reviewed Articles for HS 265

Find Peer Reviewed Articles

Use keywords to search in a database