Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English 201C: Contemporary Authors Guide

This libguide supports Prof. Alan Soldofsky's English 201c course, focused on Creative Writing at the graduate student level.

Electronic Texts and Documents

Note: all of these resources are licensed for Dartmouth users only, except for Bartelby and Project Gutenberg.  In addition, the Dartmouth Library Catalog provides access to thousands of electronic books.  Search the catalog by author or title, and choose "WEB Resources" from the drop-down menu under the search box.

"The Book Bench"

Tobias Wolff reads Denis Johnson

The Book Bench

Contemporary Authors

Poetry Foundation

Wonderful resource which features short biographies on poets, select poems from authors, and critical articles on the authors.  Go here to find background information on poets, main themes in their work, and an overview of their work. 

Poets.org

A website from The Academy of American Poets, this covers multiple generations of poets, but has good information about contemporary American ones. As well, there is an "Essays & Interviews" section which provides a broader glimpse of some of the featured authors.  Searchable by author, title, movement, theme, or general keyword, using the Advanced Search option.  

Associated Writers Program

Started in 1967, the AWP provides support and resources for creative writers in higher education.

Poets & Writers

Founded in 1970, P&W fosters professional development and promotes communication within the literary community.

New Pages

News, information and guides to independent bookstores, independent publishers, literary magazines and more.

Voice of the Shuttle

Created by a member of the English Dept at UC-Santa Barbara, this is a compendium of electronic resources for contemporary British and American authors.  Links to reviews, bibliographies, audiofiles and critiques. 

Modern American Poetry

Hosted by the English Dept at University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, MAPS is designed as an digital learning environment, and includes syllabi from external English faculty regarding contemporary American poetry.  Author links include reviews and critiques with appropriate citations.   


Mostly Fiction Book Reviews

This page is specific to contemporary authors, and includes local ones such as Michael Chabon.  Primarily a book-length review resource, but it is possible to access "Short Stories" under the tag cloud on the sidebar.  Searchable by author, title, or reviewer.