SJSU Research Guides: Civil & Environmental Engineering: Find Databases / Articles

Find Databases / Articles

American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of journals from the American Society of Civil Engineers. SJSU Library doesn't have access to ASCE standards, ebooks, or conference proceedings.
Institution of Civil Engineering Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
The library subscribes to the proceedings in the ICE Specialist Engineering Journals collection. An icon with "S" next to a journal indicates full text access.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Offers access to engineering research literature and patent databases including Compendex and Inspec. Also includes GeoRef and GEOBASE databases.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and ebooks in science, technology and medicine (STM), arts, humanities and social sciences. Click on "Journals and Books" link on the website to filter by subscribed, open access and complimentary access to know what is available to you. The Advanced Search screen also allows you to filter by subscribed, open access and complimentary access, and subject areas to know what is available to you.
GreenFile This link opens in a new window
The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records. It draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
ASTM Standards & Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The library includes journals, 12,900 standards, technical publications, manual, proceedings and bulletins that cover these engineering disciplines: aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science and solar engineering.

GeoRef Open-Access Journals This link opens in a new window
This geosciences database includes open access geological sciences journals.
Web of Science (and ESI & JCR) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a citation database that covers three major tools: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The complete database covers thousands of scholarly journals from 1975 to the present across a broad range of disciplines. Included in the subscription: Journal Citation Reports and Essential Science Indicators (ESI). Use the ESI Help Guide and JCR Help Guide to learn more.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of e-journals and ebooks covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Download the user guide

Follow this step-by-step procedure to connect Google Scholar to SJSU GetText within the university databases.
Go to Customizing Google Scholar (3 minute tutorial).

Set your preferences in Google Scholar.

Click on Settings at the top of the page and then choose Library Links on the left and search for San Jose State University.
Select "San Jose State University – SJSU GetText" and click the Save button.

New York Times Online This link opens in a new window
Access and personalize the New York Times website with your SJSU email address. Here are instructions to create your NYTimes account. Once you have created your account, use it to sign into the NY Times website from anywhere. Includes interactives, video, and audio, plus digital images of the newspaper back to 1851.
NewsBank California Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection featuring California news sources including newspapers, university and college newspapers, web only content, blogs, newswires, and America's News magazines. The collection includes San Jose Mercury News.

Database Tutorials

Database Search Strategies for Engineering
Using Find It
Find It is a service that allows you to find full-text articles even when they're not in the database you're searching. This tutorial provides a brief introduction to using Find It to access the articles you need.
Find Books and Articles Using OneSearch
Use OneSearch to find the books and articles you need.

Engineering Village Database Search Strategies
Learn how to find articles in the Engineering Village database

IEEE Xplore Database Search Strategies
Learn how to search the IEEE Xplore database for information on your topic.

Web of Science Database Search Strategies
Learn how to find articles in the Web of Science database

Database Guides
Online tutorials for databases - ScienceDirect, Web of Science, Academic Search Complete, PubMed, and others

Can't get article full-text?

ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan)

Use Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) to request items such as books, articles (print or electronic copies), and dissertations from libraries worldwide.

Set up an ILLiad account. Expect an article to be emailed to you in 2 to 10 days.