ARTH 110: History and Theory of New Media

This art research database covers a broad range of subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. It features full-text articles, indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books and more. It also has a collection of over 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and other sources

Indexing & abstracts for modern and contemporary art of late 19th century onwards. Covers performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.

This archival database offers historical literature on a variety of art topics from the years 1929-1984. It provides access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews.

Explore the areas of art and design, Archaeology, anthropology and classical studies, architecture, urban planning, philosophy, geography and religion, modern languages and literatures, music, theatre, film and cultural studies. and more. Titles include both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies

Covers art of Europe and the Americas (4th century to modern). Citations (publication information) and summaries of art-related books, articles, conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs.

Covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts. Disciplines covered include ceramics, glass, jewelry, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture. Period covered: Mid-19th century to present Dates of publications: 1973 to present.

The journals archive consists of older (at least 2-5 years) issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects including the arts, humanities, and social sciences. The eBook collections are DRM-free and allow for unlimited concurrent use and unlimited chapter downloads and printing. Note: The following collections are complimentary through Dec 31, 2023 to current SJSU students and employees: 19th Century Pamphlets, Business IV, Ecology & Botany II, Hebrew, Ireland, Jewish Studies, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, Sustainability.

Full-text scholarly articles in literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, social science, mathematics.

Provides full text for hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. This resource is for students, researchers, and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought. This subscription is supported by an NEH Challenge Grant: "Any views, findings, conclusions or recommendations expressed in this database do not necessarily represent those of the National Endowment for the Humanities."

From ProQuest: Users may search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives from the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Content includes access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. Also included: CBS News 60 MInutes, US Hispanic Newsstream, US Major Dailies, US Midwest Newsstream, US North Central Newsstream, US Northeast Newsstream, US South Newsstream

Search all of the ProQuest news databases: Alt+PressWatch, Canadian Major Dailies, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Global Newsstream, International Newsstream, U.S. Newsstream, Historical NYT, Historical SF Chronicle. Alternatively, these databases may be searched separately in the Articles and Databases list.