SJSU Research Guides: BioTech: the SJSU Masters in BioTechnology Program: Understanding Science of BioTech

SJSU Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary full text, peer reviewed academic journals that support scholarly research in key areas of academic study.
academic search premier
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes original research articles in biological and biomedical journals. Includes traditional areas of biology such as botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related fields such as biomedicine, agriculture, pharmacology and ecology, interdisciplinary fields.
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
A collection of scholarly, peer-reviewed biological, ecological, and environmental sciences journals.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
1300+ full-text journals available to support nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This resource also provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheet and quick lesson disease overviews, and continuing education modules.
cinhal
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Offers access to engineering research literature and patent databases including Compendex and Inspec. Also includes GeoRef and GEOBASE databases.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Searches MEDLINE, the leading database of journal articles in the health sciences, including medicine, nursing, the allied health sciences, public health, and the basic sciences. Coverage is 1946 - present.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and ebooks in science, technology and medicine (STM), arts, humanities and social sciences. Click on "Journals and Books" link on the website to filter by subscribed, open access and complimentary access to know what is available to you. Note: You may see a screen from Elsevier asking: “Are you a Human”. It's okay to click on the box. It's a verification process to prevent automated traffic (BOTS) from abusing excessive downloads of PDFs.
Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles covering the Sciences, Humanities and Social Sciences. Library subscription also includes access to many ebooks and conference proceedings.
Web of Science (and ESI & JCR) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a citation database that covers three major tools: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The complete database covers thousands of scholarly journals from 1975 to the present across a broad range of disciplines. Included in the subscription: Journal Citation Reports and Essential Science Indicators (ESI). Use the ESI Help Guide and JCR Help Guide to learn more. Also included is the Grants Index which is found under the Web of Science core collection drop down menu.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of e-journals and ebooks covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

BioTech Periodicals

Popular, Current News Outlets

Genetic Engineering News

Bio-IT World

FiercePharma

Wall Street Journal

Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Journals

Nature Biotechnology

Science

Nature

General Bio Websites

Intute: Health and Life Sciences-Bioresearch
Formerly known as NMAP, Intute offers access to a variety of credible web resources for nursing, midwifery, and allied health. One can also search for information on Medicine, Agriculture Food and Forestry, the History and Medicine, Bioethics, Veterinary Science and other Life Science related topics.
National Academies Press
The National Academies provided free access to its highly esteemed publications, encompassing all of the life sciences, from molecular genetics to biodiversity, and examines a wide range of issues, from improving education in biology to advising how researchers can equitably and efficiently share rare and costly research materials.
more...less...
Many of the Academies reports also explore policy questions that arise from applications of biology, as in biotechnology and conservation biology. One recent report outlines the downward population trend of insect pollinators in the U.S. Read it online free at http://www.nationalacademies.org/morenews/20061017-2.html
List of biotechnology companies by BioPharmGuy

Government Search Engines

Agricola This link opens in a new window
Indexes agriculture and allied disciplines, including food & nutrition, entomology, plant sciences, aquaculture, agricultural economics, earth and environmental sciences.

USA.gov Government Search
Search a single location for U.S. government information, and to keep up to date on government news.
Science.gov
Science.gov is a portal to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results. There is also an excellent link to programs for science education.

Bio Agencies on the Web

National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
NCBI national resource for molecular biology information within the United States. Locate information on understanding molecular processes affecting human health and disease.
Biotechnology Industry Organization (BIO)
Locate information regarding national issues (Health Care, Food and Agriculture, Industrial and Environmental Bioethics, Intellectual Property and more ) surrounding the biotechnology industry.
Biotechnology in Food and Agriculture (FAO)
Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations features FAO statement on biotechnology, country policy documents, FAO's activities, access to an electronic forum and much more.
National Science Foundation (NSF)
The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense…" With an annual budget of about $5.5 billion, NSF is the funding source for approximately 20 percent of all federally supported basic research conducted by America's colleges and universities.
National Academy of Sciences
The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) is an honorific society of distinguished scholars engaged in scientific and engineering research, dedicated to the furtherance of science and technology and to their use for the general welfare.
U.S. National Institutes of Health
The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency for conducting and supporting medical research.
Health and Medicine Division(HMD) of the National Academies of Science
The nation turns to the Health and Medical Division of the National Academies (formerly Institute of Medicine - IOM) for science-based advice on matters of biomedical science, medicine, and health. A nonprofit organization specifically created for this purpose as well as an honorific membership organization, the IOM was chartered in 1970 as a component of the National Academy of Sciences.

Protein Websites

Protein DataBank The PDB archive contains information about experimentally-determined structures of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies.

iHOP Information Hyperlinked over Proteins. A network of concurring genes and proteins extends through the scientific literature touching on phenotypes, pathologies and gene function.

iHOP provides this network as a natural way of accessing millions of PubMed abstracts. By using genes and proteins as hyperlinks between sentences and abstracts, the information in PubMed can be converted into one navigable resource, bringing all advantages of the internet to scientific literature research. Search for a gene synonym or accession number

Biotech Web Resources

Additional Resources

Biotechnology encompasses a variety of disciplines. Be sure to check out these related LibGuides when performing your research.