It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books are key resources for Art and Design Research. The Library Catalog
will help you identify the location of books on your topic. As you
search, keep in mind that the catalog records for books are very brief.
If you are seeking books that will contain lots of images, look for
titles with "exhibition catalogue" or catalogue raisonne" as part of the
Reference Sources for art are very useful for quickly gathering information on the amount of information available on an artist, artwork, or timeperiod. Reference Sources will frequently included recommended readings for your topic.
Provides access to Grove Art Online, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, and the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
Contains the searchable full text of these sources: Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms Oxford Dictionary of Art A Dictionary of Modern Design Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture The Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture Also see the Timelines section of this resource.