SJSU Research Guides: Architecture: California Architecture

California Room

To find information about California architects and architecture, use books, journals, and materials in the regular Library collections, the Library's 5th floor Special Collections, and in SJPL's 5th floor California Room.

Journal Literature

History journals and local newspapers can be helpful for finding information about local architecture. For example, a useful journal for researching California builders and buildings is called California History.

The Art & Architecture Source database can be searched using the keyword "California" to locate information on California architecture.

Newspapers

ProQuest Historical Newspapers The San Francisco Chronicle This link opens in a new window
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. (1865-1922). From Jan 1, 1865 to Aug 31, 1868, known as The Daily Dramatic Chronicle; From Sept 1, 1868 to Aug 14, 1869, known as Daily Morning Chronicle; and from Aug 15, 1869, known as San Francisco Chronicle. Help Guide
U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
From ProQuest: Users may search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives from the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Content includes access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. Also included: CBS News 60 MInutes, US Hispanic Newsstream, US Major Dailies, US Midwest Newsstream, US North Central Newsstream, US Northeast Newsstream, US South Newsstream

Online Reference Tools

Pacific Coast Architecture Database
The Pacific Coast Architecture Database (PCAD) includes a range of information on the buildings and designers of California, Oregon and Washington.
Art & Architecture Source
This art research database covers a broad range of subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. It features full-text articles, indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books and more. It also has a collection of over 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and other sources.
SAH Archipedia
SAH Archipedia is an authoritative online encyclopedia of the U.S. built environment organized by the Society of Architectural Historians and the University of Virginia Press. It contains histories, photographs, and maps for over 20,000 structures and places.

DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
Covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts. Disciplines covered include ceramics, glass, jewelry, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture. Period covered: Mid-19th century to present Dates of publications: 1973 to present.

Architecture

Librarian

Books

California Room

Journal Literature

Newspapers

Online Reference Tools