This guide will help you select resources for researching topics in photography. If you are beginning research on an unfamiliar topic, first consult reference sources – dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, etc. – for useful overviews and introductory information about an artist, artwork, art form, movement, or time period.
Overviews and bibliographies can be found in Oxford Art Online and the Met Museum's Timeline of Art History.
Oxford Art Online enables access and cross-search functionality to Grove and Oxford reference content in one location. Provides access to Grove Art Online, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society and numerous international art galleries and artists.
The A&AePortal is an authoritative eBook resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, visual culture, and design. The site includes many out-of-print titles, key backlist, and recent releases from some of the world’s finest academic and museum publishers.
Oxford Reference Online contains 100+ dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University press.
The journals archive consists of older (at least 2-5 years) issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects including the arts, humanities, and social sciences. The eBook collections are DRM-free and allow for unlimited concurrent use and unlimited chapter downloads and printing.
