It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Women in the Arts
Research resources for finding information about women artists
The resources linked through the tabs on the left side of this page will take you to a variety of resources for finding biographical and critical information on women artists along with women in film and media.
Along with information for Educational Curricula, Guides & Associations, you will find information for Women's Museum Collections. Contact information is provided. Note: If you have a university ID, many museums across the country will either have a reduced fee or no fee for entrance if you plan to tour a museum.
The Media Guide features women artists from TEDTalks;PBS Series featuring women artists; Film Documentaries- featuring a wide range of women artists & craft artisans and lastly, the Film Research Resource Guide, provides free access to online collections.
Many of the Online Resources do not require a university student/faculty status to access the databases. A wide range of subjects is showcased. All sources are annotated for quick reference.
Specialty Books offers a small sampling of current publications and iconic writings from women art historians. All books are listed from the WorldCat database for easy reference.
Library Databases: You will be prompted for a San José State University (SJSU) identification and pin numbers if you are logging on remotely. If you do not have a SJSU ID, please check with your local library for access to these or similar databases.
Universities, both nationally and internationally have LibGuides on specific concentrations of study. Explore collections worldwide!