If you are beginning research on a new project, useful overviews and bibliographies can be found in Oxford Art Online and the Met Museum's Timeline of Art History. For art specific questions, use the Oxford Art Online, which includes the Grove Dictionary of Art. For contextual information, including timelines, consult the Oxford Reference database.
Oxford Reference Online contains 100+ dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University press.
To Life!: Eco Art in Pursuit of a Sustainable Planet by
To Life! Eco Art in Pursuit of a Sustainable Planet documents the burgeoning eco art movement from A to Z, presenting a panorama of artistic responses to environmental concerns, from Ant Farm’s anti-consumer antics in the 1970s to Marina Zurkow’s 2007 animation that anticipates the havoc wreaked upon the planet by global warming. This text is the first international survey of twentieth and twenty-first-century artists who are transforming the global challenges facing humanity and the Earth’s diverse living systems. Their pioneering explorations are situated at today’s cultural, scientific, economic, spiritual, and ethical frontiers. The text guides students of art, design, environmental studies, and interdisciplinary studies to integrate environmental awareness, responsibility, and activism into their professional and personal lives.
Land/Art: New Mexico by
Land Art emerged in the 1970s when a handful of New York's more adventurous artists departed the gallery scene to make work in the open landscapes of the American West--Robert Smithson, James Turrell and Walter De Maria among them. Today, the genre has been renamed "environmental art," and encompasses the global community, the microscopic world, cyber space, suburban sprawl and the urban environment. Land/Art documents a series of events presented by 18 New Mexico arts organizations which explore the relationship between land, art and community through exhibitions, site-specific works and lectures. Featuring works by more than 40 artists, including the Center for Land Use Interpretation, Laurie Anderson, Erika Blumenfeld, Basia Irland, Patrick Dougherty, Catalina Delgado Trunk and Shelley Niro, this volume includes an introduction by critic Lucy Lippard, one of Land Art's best-known exponents.
Andrew Rogers: a global land art project by
This book examines Andrew Rogers's unique global land art project and includes numerous spectacular photographs of his work. For the past 16 years Andrew Rogers has been building enormous stone structures called geoglyphs on all seven continents around the world. Designed to be seen from above, these magnificent creations have a global purpose-- to form a set of connected drawings on Earth visible from space, embracing the cultural heritage of all civilizations. This book includes stunning ground-level, aerial, and satellite photography. From the peaks of Nepal to the Bolivian Andes; the granite monoliths of Sri Lanka to the volcanic expanses of Iceland; the frigid ice caps of Antarctica to the sweltering desert sands of the African Savannah--each of the 51 geoglyphs was built using local materials and conceived of with the help of local workers, archaeologists, and ethnologists. Brimming with fascinating stories and photos that illustrate the unlimited potential of community cooperation, this book introduces readers to a unifying land art project whose scope and humanity are unparalleled in modern art history.
Robert Smithson: Spiral Jetty by
In 1970 Robert Smithson (1938-1973), one of the most innovative and provocative artists of the twentieth century, created the landmark earthwork Spiral Jetty at Rozel Point on Utah's Great Salt Lake. This dramatic and highly influential work forms a coil 1,500 feet long and 15 feet wide and stretches out counterclockwise into the lake's translucent red water. Composed of black basalt rocks and earth, the sculpture comprises the materials of its location: mud, salt crystals, rocks, water. The contributors to this comprehensive publication consider the sculpture in relation to its eponymous companions--a text work and a film. These essays situate this renowned series of works alongside Smithson's critical writings, proposals, drawings, sources, and models. Amply illustrated with archival and new photographs of the Jetty and many comparative illustrations, this book makes evident why Smithson's art and writings have had such a powerful impact on art and art theory for over thirty years.
Land and Environmental Art by
The definitive survey not only of Land Art but also of contemporary environmental art, featuring exquisite photographs of site-specific works in spectacular locations around the world. Essential reading for both art enthusiasts and anyone concerned with the environment, the book is the most comprehensive and beautifully illustrated book on the subject.
Search these Library of Congress Subject Headings:
Multidisciplinary full text, peer reviewed academic journals that support scholarly research in key areas of academic study.
Full-text articles and ebooks in science, technology and medicine (STM), arts, humanities and social sciences. Click on "Journals and Books" link on the website to filter by subscribed, open access and complimentary access to know what is available to you. Note: You may see a screen from Elsevier asking: “Are you a Human”. It's okay to click on the box. It's a verification process to prevent automated traffic (BOTS) from abusing excessive downloads of PDFs.
Covers 1923 to the present. This weekly publication gives background information on current and controversial issues. Unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.
Tjukurrtjanu: Origins of Western Desert Art by 
Andy Goldsworthy by
Illustrates outdoor sculptures created with a range of natural materials, including snow, ice, leaves, rock, clay, stones, feathers, and twigs.
Christo by
Examines the Bulgarian-born artist's major works, such as Surrounded Islands, Running Fences, and the Pont Neuf Wrapped, which are catagorized as both sculptures and performance art.
Chris Drury: found moments in time and space by
"Chris Drury walks - and works - in the wild landscapes of the world. Over the last twenty years, he has developed an impressive and highly personal repertoire of sculptural responses to the natural environment. This book is the first to explore the work of this highly inventive English artist." "Drury's experiences of places or journeys around the globe are expressed in two kinds of sculpture: cairns or shelters, sometimes filled with fire, which are built in remote and often beautiful locations, and meticulously worked baskets and exquisitely formed "bundles" - of bone, wood, leaf, grass, feather, stone - which are created later from materials picked up along the way. Thus, a basket made of heather, wool, and stone recalls a shelter made of heather branches, and is, in turn, echoed ten years later by a dewpond in Sussex, England, cut into a maze of intersecting channels. A cairn built in a canyon in New Mexico is followed, in time, by etched and bound elk bones from a mountain-lion kill there." "Kay Syrad's introduction analyzes Chris Drury's sculpture in the context of late-twentieth-century environmental art, providing valuable insights into the artist's motivations. Drury's own commentaries, together with the highly evocative photographs of his work, convey his passionate exploration of humanity's relationship to nature, as well as his appreciation of the natural world as one in which people have their place and have made their mark."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
The journals archive consists of older (at least 2-5 years) issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects including the arts, humanities, and social sciences. The eBook collections are DRM-free and allow for unlimited concurrent use and unlimited chapter downloads and printing.
Use these databases to find journal articles on art and design topics.
The journals archive consists of older (at least 2-5 years) issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects including the arts, humanities, and social sciences. The eBook collections are DRM-free and allow for unlimited concurrent use and unlimited chapter downloads and printing.
