This art research database covers a broad range of subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. It features full-text articles, indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books and more. It also has a collection of over 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and other sources
Covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts. Disciplines covered include ceramics, glass, jewelry, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture. Period covered: Mid-19th century to present Dates of publications: 1973 to present.
(Ebook) The Top 50 Sustainability Books by Wayne VisserThis unique title draws together in one volume some of the best thinking to date on the pressing social and environmental challenges we face as a society. These are the Top 50 Sustainability Books as voted for by the University of Cambridge Programme for Sustainability Leadership's alumni network of over 3,000 senior leaders from around the world. In addition to profiles of all 50 titles, many of the authors share their most recent reflections on the state of the world and the ongoing attempts by business, government and civil society to create a more sustainable future. Many of these authors have become household names in the environmental, social and economic justice movements - from Rachel Carson, Ralph Nader and E.F. Schumacher to Vandana Shiva, Muhammad Yunus and Al Gore. Others, such as Aldo Leopold, Thomas Berry and Manfred Max-Neef, are relatively undiscovered gems, whose work should be much more widely known. By featuring these and other seminal thinkers, The Top 50 Sustainability Books distils a remarkable collective intelligence - one that provides devastating evidence of the problems we face as a global society, yet also inspiring examples of innovative solutions; it explores our deepest fears and our highest hopes for the future. It is a must-read for anyone who wants to tap into the wisdom of our age.
From Jacobsen to Tupperware, this dictionary of modern design covers the period from the mid-19th century to the end of the 20th century. Over 2000 entries on names and movements include ceramics, furniture, graphics, industrial design, interiors and fashion.
Cradle to Cradle by William McDonough; Michael BraungartA manifesto for a radically different philosophy and practice of manufacture and environmentalism "Reduce, reuse, recycle" urge environmentalists; in other words, do more with less in order to minimize damage. But as this provocative, visionary book argues, this approach perpetuates a one-way, "cradle to grave" manufacturing model that dates to the Industrial Revolution and casts off as much as 90 percent of the materials it uses as waste, much of it toxic. Why not challenge the notion that human industry must inevitably damage the natural world? In fact, why not take nature itself as our model? A tree produces thousands of blossoms in order to create another tree, yet we do not consider its abundance wasteful but safe, beautiful, and highly effective; hence, "waste equals food" is the first principle the book sets forth. Products might be designed so that, after their useful life, they provide nourishment for something new-either as "biological nutrients" that safely re-enter the environment or as "technical nutrients" that circulatewithin closed-loop industrial cycles, without being "downcycled" into low-grade uses (as most "recyclables" now are). Elaborating their principles from experience (re)designing everything from carpeting to corporate campuses, William McDonough and Michael Braungart make an exciting and viable case for change.
Publication Date: 2002-04-22
The Green Imperative by Victor PapanekThis work asserts the belief that the power of design can influence a more responsible approach to our threatened environment. It shows how everyone, from those at the forefront of design to the consumers, can contribute to the well-being of the planet through an awareness of design and technology. The book explores a more spiritually-satisfying approach to design - designing for need, not greed. It also includes examples from all areas of design, from packaging and product design to large-scale architecture. Practical advice and checklists for the consumer on selecting and buying, using and re-using is also featured.
Publication Date: 1995-10-01
Details, Technology, and Form by Christine Killory; Rene DavidsThe AsBuilt series is dedicated to presenting recent examples of formal and material innovation in architecture through detail and technical drawings, diagrams, photographs, and work-in-progress material, including fabrication and assembly.Details, Technology, and Form, the third volume in the series, explores the genesis of twenty-five projects built in the United States and Canada, many notable for their multi-disciplinary design process. Editors Christine Killory and René Davids have selected buildings which have contributed to the ongoing evolution of architecture as a synthesis of art, engineering, and craft. From designs inspired by responses to environmental and energy concerns to re-interpretations of regional precedents or transformationsof pre-fabricated building systems, all are testaments to the range and reach of contemporary architectural technology. Projects by: Anmahian Winton Architects Bade Stageberg Cox Charles H. Benson & Associates Architects Choi Ropiha Fighera De Leon & Primmer Architecture Workshop Ennead Architects Gray Organschi Architecture Herzog & de Meuron Architekten HHF Architects Integrated Architecture Kendall/Heaton Associates Krueck + Sexton Architects Kuwabara Payne McKenna Blumberg Architects Morphosis Architects Parsons Brinckerhoff Perkins Eastman Rafael Viñoly Architects Renzo Piano Building Workshop Richärd + Bauer Robert Siegel Architects Ross Barney Architects Selldorf Architects SJA Architects Skidmore, Owings & Merrill SmithGroup Inc. Smith-Miller + Hawkinson Architects Stantec Steven Kratchman Architect Thomas Roszak Architecture Toshiko Mori Architect VOA Associates Incorporated Weiss/Manfredi Architecture/Landscape/Urbanism Zaha Hadid Architects