SJSU Research Guides: Chemistry: Finding Articles

The Big 3: Recommended Databases

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Comprehensively search the chemical literature, including journal articles, patents, government publications, conference proceedings, and technical reports. Also provides access to Chemical Abstracts, the CAS Registry, CASREACT, ChemZent, and MEDLINE. Register for an account (SJSU Only). This resource also includes CAS Analytical Methods and CAS Formulas that may be accessed from the menu in SciFinder N or directly once you have an account. Here is the link for SciFinder-n Help Guide.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
This abstract and citation database covers thousands of scholarly journals, books, and conference proceedings. Covering a broad range of disciplines, Scopus enables one to track, analyze, and visualize research. Output data at the institutional and author levels are available. Authors will find h-index, Source Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP), and citation counts helpful in demonstrating the impact of their work.
ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
Online editions of 36+ scientific journals published by the American Chemical Society.

Web of Science (and ESI & JCR) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a citation database that covers three major tools: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The complete database covers thousands of scholarly journals from 1975 to the present across a broad range of disciplines. Included in the subscription: Journal Citation Reports and Essential Science Indicators (ESI). Use the ESI Help Guide and JCR Help Guide to learn more.
Royal Society of Chemistry Journals Online This link opens in a new window
The Royal Society of Chemistry publishes peer reviewed journals that cover the chemical sciences and related fields. The library subscribes to some of the journals from RSC. Others are available as open access.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles, primarily science, technology and medicine.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts from biomedical journals published in the U.S. and 70 other countries, dating back to the mid-1960's.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary full text, peer reviewed academic journals that support scholarly research in key areas of academic study.
academic search premier
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles covering the Sciences, Humanities and Social Sciences. Library subscription also includes access to many ebooks and conference proceedings.

PubChem
Free database of chemical structures of small organic molecules and information on their biological activities.

Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Offers integrated access to more than 4 million articles from 1,500 journals, 9,000 books, and hundreds of reference works and databases.

Google Scholar
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.

Learning how to use SciFinder? Watch these great tutorials from CAS!