SJSU Research Guides: Music: Scores

Scores in King Library Print Collections

Did you know that the King Library is the result of a partnership between SJSU and the San José Public Library (SJPL)? Because both SJPL and SJSU collect scores, the SJSU community has access to two collections of music in the same building.

SJSU Music Collections

Most scores in the SJSU Library Collection are on the 5th Floor of King Library. Search for scores in OneSearch to find SJSU's collections.

Search for Scores in OneSearch

Material Type: Scores

You can use OneSearch's advanced search or filters to limit your search to the material type scores and narrow your search to only musical scores.

Advanced search
How to perform an advanced search to limit your search to scores.
Filters
How to refine your search using filters to limit your search to scores.

SJPL Music Collections

SJPL Music Collections Database This link opens in a new window
An index of sheet music collections at the San José Public Library

Find Scores Online

International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP). A FREE collaborative music library including over 240,000 scores and 20,000 recordings.

Also check out the links from the Yale University LibGuide

The Best Web Resources section of this guide may help as well!

Also available through the King Library:

Classical Scores Library This link opens in a new window
Subscription is for Volume 1. A resource for music scores with links to recordings available through the Classical Music Library. Includes 800 in-copyright scores from Boosey and Hawkes and selected material from the University Music Editions (UME) microfilm series. Forty-nine composers' works are represented in this release, including notable 20th-century composers such as Aaron Copland, Benjamin Britten, Igor Stravinsky, Steve Reich, and Ned Rorem.

Music manuscripts

RISM (International Inventory of Music Sources)
Here you find RISM’s vast collection of musical sources and can freely search among 700,000 entries that contain mostly historical music manuscripts (the majority originated before 1800).The original sources are available from the libraries, music archives, and private collections as indicated in the RISM database. These institutions can often be approached for reproductions.
more...less...
Click on the British flag for the English language interface!