Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Engineering 100W

A guide to library resources for Engineering 100W students

Engineering Databases

A database is a searchable collection of information. You can use the following databases to find engineering-specific journal articles. 

Database Search Strategies

As database users, we can optimize our searches using specialized search strategies. The following video demonstrates these strategies in Engineering Village, but they can be applied to most databases.

Can't Get an Article?

Sometimes the full-text of an article doesn’t appear in the database, but that doesn’t mean the library doesn’t have access to it. You can use the “Find It” button (embedded in the database record) to search the full library collection for the article, and see if we have it elsewhere.

Find It Button

If the library does not in fact have access to the article, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan. The following video demonstrates this workflow.

Google Scholar

When you access Google Scholar, you can get access to the full text of the articles that San Jose State University Library subscribes to. In order to access full-text materials, please follow the steps below or watch this video to change the settings on Google Scholar.

  1. Sign in to www.google.com/scholar using your SJSU e-mail account.
  2. Click on Settings → Library Links.
  3. Search for San Jose State University, check the box and click Save.

Once you have linked the library to your Google scholar account you may see a link, 'Find It@SJSU' on the right side of the article. Clicking on that link directs you to your library catalog where you can see the full text.

Sample Google Scholar Search Results