You can begin using the King Library and its resources as soon as you receive your student ID and create your SJSUOne password. This is what you will use to sign in to the library's ebooks and databases.
We also highly recommend that you create the three accounts listed in the tabs above. These will help you with your research and let you get the most out of the library's resources.
Photo by James W. Murray, http://jwmurray.smugmug.com
RefWorks allows you to create a personal database of references. It uses these to automatically generate bibliographies in APA style--a huge timesaver! To create an account:
Note: While RefWorks is a great tool for generating your References page in APA style, always double-check it! The information it uses to generate citations can sometimes be incomplete or in the wrong format.
NOTE: Interlibrary Loan is unavailable for borrowing physical items until further notice.
Interlibrary Loan lets you get books* and articles you need that the King Library doesn't own. Sign into your Interlibrary Loan account with your SJSUOne ID and password below:
1. Log in using your SJSUOne ID and password.
2. Complete your user profile. IMPORTANT: Fill in the following fields this way:
3. You're done! To learn more, watch Interlibrary Loan: Placing a Request. (Note: this short video mentions picking up print books. For distance students, print books are delivered to your home.)
*SJSU will mail books to you for free but you are responsible for mailing them back. If you would like to avoid this small charge, see if your local public library offers an Interlibrary Loan service. You may be able to request and return a book for no cost.
NOTE: The library has a Google Scholar tab in its main search box, and this search provides direct links from Google Scholar to the full text of articles in the library databases. However, customizing the Google Scholar settings on your computer does allow you to activate the Import into RefWorks option. This option lets you send citations directly to RefWorks from Google Scholar.
Google Scholar lets you look across all of the scholarly content online--including the library's databases--with a single search, but first you have to set your preferences to San Jose State. You can do this by following the directions written here or by watching the Customizing Google Scholar video below.
Now when you do a Google Scholar search, you will see thelink to the right of the article title. Clicking the FindIt@SJSU link takes you from Google Scholar directly into the King Library databases and to the full text of the article.
You may also see Interlibrary Loan.under the double-arrow icon. "Get It" may also take you to the full text. Books and articles not available at the King Library can be requested through
Note: You'll notice WorldCat is a default search for Google Scholar. WorldCat is a union catalog that itemizes the collections of over 70,000 libraries in almost 200 countries. By keeping it among your Google Scholar results, you'll be able to see some titles that would otherwise not pop up. The King Library may not own them, but they can always be ordered through Interlibrary Loan.
You can also save citations you find in Google Scholar directly to your RefWorks account. To set this preference:
To access the SJSU databases off campus, you must have a University ID number and a Library PIN number. The Library PIN number is one that you assign yourself. To set up your PIN, please go to the library's homepage: http://library.sjsu.edu and then click on Library Account (top right on the home page) Fill in your name, your SJSU account number and set up your PIN.
Forgot your PIN number? On the Library Account page there is a link that will send you a new PIN number.
Two core databases in education, ERIC and PsycInfo have thesauri that identify the vocabulary used in Education and Psychology. These are excellent resources to review definitions of terms and discover related terminology.
Research Starters: Education is a good source to get background information on a topic, important people in the specific area, top scholarly articles on the subject and often a glossary of terms used in the specific area of study.