SJSU Research Guides: ChAD 106: Concepts of Childhood: Human Expression Examples

Resources with Digital examples

The following databases give visual examples of children and childhood across cultures.

AP Images This link opens in a new window
An archive of photos, images, video clips and audio files from the Associated Press.
C-SPAN Video Library This link opens in a new window
The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, now totaling over 160,000 hours, is contained in the C-SPAN Archives. All C-SPAN programs since 1993 are digital and can be viewed online for free. Duplicate copies of programs that have aired since 1987 can be obtained and used for education, research, review or home viewing purposes.
Calisphere: a world of primary sources This link opens in a new window
A public gateway to a world of primary sources, including those for teachers and lesson plans. More than 150,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts — reveal the diverse history and culture of California. There is a section titled: Especially for Teachers which gives information and links about teaching and learning with primary sources, including sample lesson plans, primary source analysis sheets, etc.
Civil Rights Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Delivers educational content on the Civil Rights Movement and promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale. Access a digital video archive of historical news film, a civil rights portal to related digital collections on a national scale, and a learning objects component delivering secondary Web-based resources - such as contextual stories, encyclopedia articles, lesson plans, and activities.
Daily Life Databases (America, Pop Culture, Indian, Latino, etc) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, cross-disciplinary resource that supports history, social studies, English, and language students, Daily Life moves from past to present, providing context for contemporary life and culture. Lesson plans are included that explore everyday life, past and present in every geographic area.
Europeana This link opens in a new window
Europeana.eu is a digital library containing 2 million items, including images, texts, audio and video, from European museums, galleries, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections.
Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new window
Distributes online educational videos including documentaries, films, interviews plus a range of short video series. The videos are arranged by collections: Arts, Business, Communication/Media, Education (K-12), Health, Humanities, Science. SJSU students, staff, and faculty: You will be asked to authenticate on and off campus.

Library of Congress Digital Collections contains photos, prints and drawings from earliest collections, 17^th century to the present. The collection spans all aspects of life in the US and globally..

The following boxes contain links to digital objects that represent children and childhood across cultures.

Education Databases

All of our Education Databases from EBSCO allows you the ability to limit your search by photograph or images. You can find this on the opening search screen.

So you could search: Children and South Africa and limit the search to photographs and maps.

Using Google

You can search Google for more authoritative pictures / digital objects by using advanced searching. For example:

at the Google Images search screen: https://images.google.com/ limit by government or educational institutions.

The search would look like: Children Algeria site:.edu

or Children Algeria site:.gov