SJSU Research Guides: Literature Review vs Systematic Review : Databases and Articles

Databases for EBP

These are the recommended Databases to find EBP Information

Need help accessing these resources? Get technical assistance from Student Computing Services

Have a topic and need to do some research? Below are the top databases for nursing students.

The nursing field, however, is an interdisciplinary one, so below are more databases that you may find helpful.

Need help accessing these resources? Get technical assistance from Student Computing Services

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Published on a quarterly basis, the Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care. Download the user guide.

Note: Steps to create a personal account when off campus:
1. Go directly to the Cochrane library website [bypassing your Tower ID authentication].
2. Use the "Sign in" link in the top right corner to either login to an existing account or create a new account.
a. New Accounts: Complete the registration process and SJSU email validation. Then login to your account
b. Existing customers: Log in using your Cochrane Library personal login and password.
3. When you successfully login, this information will appear in the top right corner as Signed in as "your name"
4. Once you complete this login, then return to The Cochrane Library using the link that requires your Tower ID authentication.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Food Science Source This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text coverage for 1,300+ publications, all dealing with food industry-related issues, such as packaging, processing, product development, safety, etc. More than 1,000 key food industry and market reports are also included.

Alt Healthwatch This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
ComDisDome This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Provides access to authoritative content including full-text titles cited in CINAHL supporting specialized care, treatment, and patient management. Updated daily, this resource will help nursing professionals already working in the field, as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
HaPI - Health and Psychosocial Instruments This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Web of Science (and ESI & JCR) This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window

DSM-V-TR Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders
more...less...
DSM-IV-TR (American Psychiatric Association's Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) is the standard classification of mental disorders used by mental health professionals in the United States. The Fourth Edition (DSM-IV) has been designed for use across clinical settings and can be used by a wide range of health and mental health professionals. It is also a necessary tool for collecting and communicating accurate public health statistics. The DSM-IV-TR Online only subscription also includes access to the complete DSM archives (DSM-I, DSM-II, DSM-III, DSM-III-R, DSM-IV, and a couple of significant changes to between-edition printings) for research and archiving purposes, as well as the APA Practice Guidelines and abstracts from AJP in Advance.

Hoovers Company Profiles This link opens in a new window
In-depth company profiles including operations, officers, strategies, competitors, histories, locations, products & brand names, and financial information Also known as Business Market Research Collection.

Reference USA (requires a San Jose Public Library card to access)
more...less...
From the San Jose Public Library. Detailed directory information on more than 12 million U.S. businesses and 1.3 million Canadian businesses. Information on each business includes: company name, address, city, state, zip code, county, phone and fax numbers, business size in number of employees and estimate sales, headquarter and subsidiary information, contact names, credit rating, ABI number, ticker symbol, Web address, SIC and NAICS numbers.
Rich's Online Directory (California)
more...less...
From the San Jose Public Library. Over 30,000 firms in Northern and Southern California. Access over 75,000 contact names, 16,000 websites, and 12,000 email addresses. Includes high technology, financial services, manufacturing, distributors, transportation, wholesalers, and business-to-business services.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
Primary database for doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Full text of more than 1.9 million of these titles is available in PDF format. Represents over 1,000 graduate schools and universities in North America and around the world. Dissertations from 1980 & master's theses from 1988 include abstracts written by the author. Help Guide available.
Theses and Dissertations (OATD) This link opens in a new window