Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sourisseau Academy for State and Local History

Preserving historical materials related to San Jose and Santa Clara County

Photographs

Arnold Del Carlo Photographs (1940s-1960s)

Part of the Edith C. Smith Collection, the photographs in the Del Carlo collection span more than thirty years of work by local commercial photographer Arnold Del Carlo. The collection includes negatives and prints of the San Jose built environment, including aerial photographs of the Santa Clara Valley. Included in the collection are photographs of San Jose State College as well as weddings and portraiture of local people and families. The collection documents the growth of the valley during a period of rapid change that followed the Second World War.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Late 19th- and Early 20th-Century Photographs

The Sourisseau and Edith C. Smith photograph collections document the development of San Jose and the Santa Clara Valley from the late 1800s through the middle of the 1900s. The photographs provide insight into the events, people, businesses, and places that shaped the city of San Jose and the neighboring areas over the past one hundred and fifty years. The collections include photographs from many local photographers such as James Clayton, John Heering, Carlton Watkins, Loryea and Macauley, Andrew P. Hill, Howard C. Tibbitts, John O. Tucker, John C. Gordon, Arnold Del Carlo, and many others.

Postcards

Hotel Sainte Claire, circa 1935, Market and San Carlos Edith Corinne Smith Postcard Collection

The Edith C. Smith Postcard collection consists of thousands of postcards that document life in San Jose and Santa Clara County in the early 20th century. The collection has many real photo postcards that document local homes, buildings, parks, and landscapes. Other postcards in the collection include colored and tinted views of the city, the built environment, and the surrounding areas. Emphasis has been placed on collecting the works of various photographers that focused on creating post cards such as Edward O. Webb and Robert Law. Portions of the collection were collected by Leonard McKay, Jack Douglas and Steve Carlson, as well as hundreds of cards collected by the Edith C. Smith Trust.