Skip to main content

Religious Studies

SJSU Library Resources for Religious Studies

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.

 

African American Religions

Aaseng, Nathan. African-American Religious Leaders. New York, NY: Facts On File, 2003. [King Reference 2nd Floor BL72 .A27 2003]

Murphy, Larry G., J. Gordon Melton, and Gary L. Ward, eds. Encyclopedia of African American Religions. New York: Garland Pub., 1993. [King Reference 2nd Floor BR563.N4 E53 1993]

Payne, Wardell J., ed. Directory of African American Religious Bodies: A Compendium by the Howard University School of Divinity, 2nd Ed. Washington, D.C.: Howard University Press, 1995. [King folio 8th Floor BR563.N4 D57 1995]

 

Ancient Egypt

Lurker, Manfred. The Gods and Symbols of Ancient Egypt: An Illustrated Dictionary. NY: Thames and Hudson, 1980. [King Reference 2nd Floor BL 2428 .L8713 1980]

Redford, Donald B., ed. The Ancient Gods Speak: A Guide to Egyptian Religion. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2002. [King Reference 2nd Floor BL2428 .A53 2002]

Wilkinson, Richard H. The Complete Gods and Goddesses of Ancient Egypt. New York: Thames & Hudson, 2003. [King Reference 2nd Floor BL2450.G6 W56 2003]

 

Atheism

Stein, Gordon, ed. Encyclopedia of Unbelief, 2 vols. Buffalo, NY: Prometheus Books, 1985. [King Reference 2nd Floor BL 2705]

 

Communication and Religion

Stout, Daniel A., ed. Encyclopedia of Religion, Communication, and Media. New York: Routledge, 2006. [King Reference 2nd Floor P94 .E48 2006]

 

Cults and New Religious Movements

Gallagher, Eugene V. and W. Michael Ashcraft, eds. Introduction to New and Alternative Religions in America. Westport, CN: Greenwood Press, 2006. [King 6th Floor BL2525 .I58 2006]

Lewis, James R. Cults: A Reference Handbook. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2005. [King Reference 2nd Floor BL2525 .L486 2005]

Lewis, James R. Cults in America: A Reference Handbook [Contemporary World Issues]. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1998.

Lewis, James R. The Encyclopedia of Cults, Sects, and New Religions. 2nd ed. Amherst, NY: Prometheus Books, 2002. [King Reference 2nd Floor BL 2525 .L49 2002]

 

Education and Religion

Jurinski, James. Religion in the Schools: A Reference Handbook [Contemporary World Issues]. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1998.

[Top]

 

Ethics

Becker, Lawrence C. and Charlotte B. Becker, eds. Encyclopedia of Ethics, 2nd ed. New York: Routledge, 2001. [King Reference 2nd Floor BJ63 .E45 2001]

Chadwick, Ruth, ed. Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics. San Diego: Academic Press, 1998. [King Reference 2nd Floor BJ63 .E44 1998]

Childress, James F. and John Macquarrie, eds. The Westminster Dictionary of Christian Ethics. Philadelphia: Westminster Press, 1986. [King Reference 2nd Floor BJ1199 .W47 1986]

Clarke, Paul Barry and Andrew Linzey, eds. Dictionary of Ethics, Theology, and Society. London; New York: Routledge, 1996. [King Reference 2nd Floor BJ63 .D53 1996]

Macquarrie, John, ed. Dictionary of Christian Ethics. Philadelphia, PA: Westminster Press, 1967. [King 6th Floor BJ63 .M3]

Mathews, Shailer and Gerald Birney Smith, eds. A Dictionary of Religion and Ethics. London, Waverly Book Co.; Detroit, Gale Research Co., 1973. [King Reference 2nd Floor BL31 .M3 1973]

 

Fundamentalism

Brasher, Brenda E., ed. Encyclopedia of Fundamentalism. New York: Routledge, 2001. [King Reference 2nd Floor BL238 .E63 2001]

Mawsilili, Ahmad. Historical Dictionary of Islamic Fundamentalist Movements in the Arab World, Iran, and Turkey. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1999. [King Reference 2nd Floor BP 60 .M36 1999]

 

Goddess Worship

Ann, Martha and Dorothy Myers Imel. Goddesses in World Mythology. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1993. [also King Reference 2nd Floor BL473.5 .A66]

 

Heresy

Clifton, Chas S. Encyclopedia of Heresies and Heretics. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1992. [King Reference 2nd Floor BT1315.2 .C55 1992]

 

Human Rights

Human Rights and the World's Major Religions. Westport, CT: Praeger, 2005. [King Reference 2nd Floor BL65.H78 H8595 2005]

 

Islam and the West

Akbar, M. J. The Shade of Swords: Jihad and the Conflict between Islam and Christianity. London; New York: Routledge, 2002.

Cragg, Kenneth. The Qur'an and the West. Washington, DC: Georgetown University Press, 2006. [King 6th Floor BP130.4 .C715 2006]

Labeviere, Richard. Dollars for Terror: The United States and Islam. New York: Algora Publishing, 2000.

 

Language and Religion

Sawyer, John F.A. and J.M.Y. Simpson, eds. Concise Encyclopedia of Language and Religion. Amsterdam; New York: Elsevier, 2001. [King Reference 2nd Floor P41 .C65 2001]

 

Middle Ages

Hackett, Jeremiah, ed. Medieval Philosophers. Detroit: Gale Research, 1992. [King Reference 2nd Floor B721 .M45 1992]

 

Mythology

Ann, Martha and Dorothy Myers Imel. Goddesses in World Mythology. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1993. [also King Reference 2nd Floor BL473.5 .A66]

Cotterell, Arthur. The Encyclopedia of Mythology: Classical, Celtic, Norse. New York: Smithmark, c1996. [King Reference 2nd Floor BL313 .C68 1996]

Craig, Robert D. Dictionary of Polynesian Mythology. NY: Greenwood Press, 1989. [King Reference 2nd Floor BL 2620.P6 C7 1989]

Dallapiccola, Anna L. Dictionary of Hindu Lore and Legend. NY: Thames & Hudson, 2002. [King Reference 2nd Floor BL 1105 .D35 2002]

Gill, Sam D. and Irene F. Sullivan. Dictionary of Native American Mythology. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1992. [also King Reference 2nd Floor E98.R3 G46 1992]

Grimal, Pierre. The Dictionary of Classical Mythology. Oxford, England; NY: Blackwell, 1985, 1986. [King Reference 2nd Floor BL 715 .M37 1999x]

The Hutchinson Dictionary of World Mythology. Abingdon [UK]: Helicon Publishing Limited, 2005.

Leeming, David. A Dictionary of Asian Mythology. New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 2001. [also King Reference 2nd Floor BL1005 .L46 2001]

Leeming, David. The Oxford Companion to World Mythology. Oxford University Press, 2004.

Leeming, David Adams and Margaret Adams Leeming. A Dictionary of Creation Myths. New York: Oxford University Press, 1995. [King Reference 2nd Floor BL325.C7 L44 1995]

MacKillop, James. Dictionary of Celtic Mythology. Oxford; NY: Oxford University Press, 1998. [also King Reference 2nd Floor BL 900 .M445 1998]

Mercatante, Anthony S. The Facts on File Encyclopedia of World Mythology and Legend. NY: Facts on File, 1988. [King Reference 2nd Floor BL 303 .M45 1988]

Mythology and Folklore [under "Subject Reference," Oxford Reference Online Premium].

Price, Simon & Emily Kearns, eds. The Oxford Dictionary of Classical Myth and Religion. Oxford; NY: Oxford University Press, 2003. [King Reference 2nd Floor BL 715 .94x 2003]

 

Native American Religions

Gill, Sam D. and Irene F. Sullivan. Dictionary of Native American Mythology. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1992. [also King Reference 2nd Floor E98.R3 G46 1992]

 

Paganism and Witchcraft

Bailey, Michael David. Historical Dictionary of Witchcraft. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2003. [King Reference 2nd Floor BF 1566 .B25 2003]

Grimassi, Raven. Encyclopedia of Wicca and Witchcraft. St. Paul, MN: Llewellyn, 2000. [King Reference 2nd Floor BF 1571 .G75 2000]

Guiley, Rosemary Ellen. The Encyclopedia of Witches and Witchcraft, 2nd ed. NY: Facts on File, 1999. [King Reference 2nd Floor BF 1566 .G85 1999]

Lewis, James R. Witchcraft Today: An Encyclopedia of Wiccan and Neopagan Traditions. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1999. [King Reference 2nd Floor BF 1571 .L49 1999]

 

Philosophy

Concise Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy. London; New York: Routledge, 2000.

Hackett, Jeremiah, ed. Medieval Philosophers. Detroit: Gale Research, 1992. [King Reference 2nd Floor B721 .M45 1992]

Iannone, A. Pablo. Dictionary of World Philosophy. New York: Routledge, 2001.

Parkinson, G. H. R., ed. An Encyclopaedia of Philosophy. London: Routledge, 1996 [c1988].

Parkinson, G.H.R., gen. editor; Burke, T.E., et al., associate editors. The Handbook of Western Philosophy. New York: Macmillan, 1988. [King Reference 2nd Floor B804 .H17 1988]

 

Politics and Religion

Djupe, Paul A. and Laura R. Olson. Encyclopedia of American Religion and Politics. New York: Facts On File, 2003. [King Reference 2nd Floor BL2525 .D58 2003]

Schultz, Jeffrey D., John G. West, Jr. and Iain MacLean, eds. Encyclopedia of Religion in American Politics. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 1999. [King Reference 2nd Floor BL 2525 .E52 1999]

Hansen, Thomas Blom. The Saffron Wave: Democracy and Hindu Nationalism in Modern India. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 1999.

 

Popular Culture and Religion

Lewis, James R. Satanism Today: An Encyclopedia of Religion, Folklore, and Popular Culture. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2001. [King Reference 2nd Floor BF 1548 .L49 2001]

 

Religion and the Environment

Taylor, Bron R., ed. The Encyclopedia of Religion and Nature. London: Thoemmes Continuum, 2005. [King Reference 2nd Floor BL31 .E53x 2005]

 

Religion in America

American Jewish Desk Reference: [The Ultimate One-Volume Reference to the Jewish Experience in America]. New York: Random House, 1999. [King Reference 2nd Floor E184.35 .A44 1999]

Bowden, Henry Warner and Edwin S. Gaustad, eds. Dictionary of American Religious Biography. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1977. [King Reference 2nd Floor BL72 .B68]

Carroll, Bret E. The Routledge Historical Atlas of Religion in America. New York: Routledge, 2000. [King 6th Floor G1201.E4 C3 2000]

Gaustad, Edwin Scott and Philip L. Barlow. New Historical Atlas of Religion in America. New York: Oxford University Press, 2001. [King Reference 2nd Floor G1201.E4 N4 2001]

Gill, Sam D. and Irene F. Sullivan. Dictionary of Native American Mythology. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1992. [also King Reference 2nd Floor E98.R3 G46 1992]

Haddad, Yvonne Yazbeck. The Muslims of America [Religion in America Series]. New York: Oxford University Press, 1993.

Keller, Rosemary Skinner and Rosemary Radford Ruether, eds. Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 2006. [King Reference 2nd Floor BL458 .E52 2006]

Lewis, James R. Cults in America: A Reference Handbook [Contemporary World Issues]. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1998. [also King Reference 2nd Floor BL2525 .L486 2005]

Lippy, Charles H. and Peter W. Williams, eds. Encyclopedia of the American Religious Experience: Studies of Traditions and Movements. New York: Scribner, 1988. [King folio 8th Floor BL2525 .E53 1988]

Melton, J. Gordon. Encyclopedia of American Religions. 7th ed. Detroit: Gale Research, 2003. [also King Reference 2nd Floor BL 2530 .U6 M443 2003]

Morreale, Don, ed. The Complete Guide to Buddhist America. Boston, MA: Shambhala Pub., 1998. [King Reference 2nd Floor BQ 724 .C65 1998]

Murphy, Larry G., J. Gordon Melton, and Gary L. Ward, eds. Encyclopedia of African American Religions. New York: Garland Pub., 1993. [King Reference 2nd Floor BR563.N4 E53 1993]

Payne, Wardell J., ed. Directory of African American Religious Bodies: A Compendium by the Howard University School of Divinity, 2nd Ed. Washington, D.C.: Howard University Press, 1995. [King folio 8th Floor BR563.N4 D57 1995]

Reid, Daniel G., ed. Dictionary of Christianity in America. Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press, 1990. [King Reference 2nd Floor BR515 .D53 1990]

Roof, Wade Clark, ed. Contemporary American Religion. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2000. [also King Reference 2nd Floor BL 2525 .C65 2000]

Schultz, Jeffrey D., John G. West, Jr. and Iain MacLean, eds. Encyclopedia of Religion in American Politics. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 1999. [King Reference 2nd Floor BL 2525 .E52 1999]

Smith, Jane I. Islam in America [Columbia Contemporary American Religion Series]. New York: Columbia University Press, 1999.

Snodgrass, Mary Ellen. Religious Sites in America: A Dictionary. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2000. [King Reference 2nd Floor BL 581 .U6 S66 2000]

Queen, Edward L., II, Stephen R. Prothero, and Gardiner H. Shattuck, Jr. The Encyclopedia of American Religious History. Rev. ed. 2 vols. NY: Facts On File, 2001. [King Reference 2nd Floor BL 2525 .Q44 2001]

Yearbook of American and Canadian Churches. Nashville, TN: Abingdon Press, 1990-present. [King Reference 2nd Floor BR 513 .Y4]

 

Religious Practices

Riggs, Thomas, ed. Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices. Detroit: Thomson Gale, 2006. [King Reference 2nd Floor BL80.3 .W67 2006]

Salamone, Frank A., ed. Encyclopedia of Religious Rites, Rituals, and Festivals. New York: Routledge, 2004. [King Reference 2nd Floor BL31 .E47 2004]

 

Sacred Places

Brockman, Norbert C. Encyclopedia of Sacred Places. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1997. [King Reference 2nd Floor BL580 .B76 1997]

 

Satanism

Lewis, James R. Satanism Today: An Encyclopedia of Religion, Folklore, and Popular Culture. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2001. [King Reference 2nd Floor BF 1548 .L49 2001]

 

Science and Religion

van Huyssteen, J. Wentzel Vrede, ed. Encyclopedia of Science and Religion. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2003.

 

Society and Religion

Swatos, William H. and Peter Kivisto. Encyclopedia of Religion and Society. Walnut Creek, CA: AltaMira Press, 1998.

 

Symbols

Liungman, Carl G. Dictionary of Symbols. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1991. [King Reference 2nd Floor BL 603 .L5413 1991]

Lurker, Manfred. The Gods and Symbols of Ancient Egypt: an Illustrated Dictionary. New York: Thames and Hudson, 1980. [King Reference 2nd Floor BL 2428 .L8713 1980]

 

War and Religion

Palmer-Fernandez, Gabriel, ed. The Encyclopedia of Religion and War. New York, NY: Routledge, 2004. [King Reference 2nd Floor BL80.3 .E53 2004]

 

Women and Religion

Keller, Rosemary Skinner and Rosemary Radford Ruether, eds. Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 2006. [King Reference 2nd Floor BL458 .E52 2006]

Pinkham, Mildreth Worth. Woman in the Sacred Scriptures of Hinduism. New York: AMS Press, Inc., 1967. [King 6th Floor BL2015.W6 P5 1967x]

Young, Serinity, ed. Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion. 2 vols. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 1999. [King Reference 2nd Floor BL 458 .E53 1999]