SJSU Research Guides: Louisa May Alcott: The Woman Behind Little Women: Websites

Portrait by George Healy

Louisa May Alcott portrait by George Healy, realistic painter of presidents and the elite

Photo courtesy of Louisa May Alcott’s Orchard House/L. M. A. Memorial Association

Louisa May Alcott’s letters home during her Civil War nursing experience became Hospital Sketches, her first modest success.

Photo courtesy of Louisa May Alcott’s Orchard House/L. M. A. Memorial Association

Official website for the documentary and biography
Official website for the documentary and biography, Louisa May Alcott: The Woman Behind Little Women. The site includes content about Louisa May Alcott’s life and works, lesson plans, and interactive features to allow exploration of topics in greater depth.
YouTube channel with a variety of documentary film clips
YouTube channel devoted to Louisa May Alcott: The Woman Behind Little Women. View a variety of documentary film clips, including “5 Things You Don’t Know About Louisa May Alcott.”
Works by Louisa May Alcott online 1
Works by Louisa May Alcott available online.
Works by Louisa May Alcott online 2
Works by Louisa May Alcott available online.
Works by Louisa May Alcott online 3
Works by Louisa May Alcott available online.
The Louisa May Alcott Society
An association of scholars devoted to the life and works of Louisa May Alcott.
Louisa May Alcott’s Orchard House
Louisa May Alcott’s Orchard House in Concord, Massachusetts, the home of "Little Women". Includes links to education programs and special events.
Nineteenth-century women writers of domestic fiction
A website devoted to nineteenth-century women writers of domestic fiction (a.k.a. “scribbling mobs of women”).

American literary, historical, and cultural studies
Washington State University site focused on American literature, history, and culture.
American books and periodicals online from the Library of Congress
This Library of Congress site includes an online collection of books and periodicals published in the United States during the nineteenth century.
Godey’s Lady’s Book
Godey’s Lady’s Book was one of the most popular lady’s books of the nineteenth century. Each issue contained poetry, beautiful engraving, and articles by some of the most well-known authors in America.
The Margaret Fuller Society
Includes information about Fuller, bibliographies, articles, and related links.

The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
This article describes the Transcendentalist movement, its origins, history, chief figures, and works.
The Web of American Transcendentalism
Website devoted to American Transcendentalism, including authors, texts, background information about the movement, bibliographies, and more.
Research and Reference Guide: American Transcendentalism
Online research and reference guide exploring American Transcendentalism.
The Thoreau Society
Founded in 1941, The Thoreau Society, Inc. is the oldest and largest organization devoted to an American author.
The Ralph Waldo Emerson Society
Provides background information about Emerson, links to his writings, and more.
Transcendentalism in Concord, Massachusetts
Information about the workshop, “Concord, Massachusetts: A Center of Transcendentalism and Social Reform in the 19th Century,” sponsored by the Community College Humanities Association and funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities.

American Women's History of the Civil War era
American women’s history of the Civil War era.
Internet resources on women and the Civil War
Duke University Libraries compiled a list of primary sources on the Internet directly related to women and the Civil War.
Website for "The Civil War" by Ken Burns
Includes maps of key battles, links to historic documents, and allows site visitors to experiment with storytelling by mixing archival images, narration, and music to create your own movie.
American Civil War Recipes
Resources for Civil War-era cooking and recipes.

American Abolitionism
Website offering resources for the study the American Abolitionist movement.
Library of Congress Resource Guide
A Library of Congress Resource Guide for abolition including anti-slavery publications, prominent abolitionists, and maps of slave and free states.
Podcasts of historians
Podcasts featuring historians discussing slavery and abolition.
Library of Congress Exhibit
Library of Congress exhibit featuring resources about abolition, anti-slavery movements, and the rise of the sectional controversy.
National Park Service information
Concerns Louisa May Alcott and the Underground Railroad.

Louisa May Alcott’s father
A website about Louisa May Alcott’s father, Amos Bronson Alcott – a reformer, philosopher, writer, visionary, teacher.
Timeline of the women's suffrage movement
Timeline of the women’s suffrage movement.
Research and Reference Guide: The Women's Rights Movement
A research and reference guide exploring the women’s rights movement.
National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection
Selections from the Rare Book and Special Collections Division at the Library of Congress.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
A resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women’s history.