SJSU Research Guides: Linguistics and Language Development: Websites

Associations

Center for Applied Linguistics
The official site of this not-for-profit scholarly organization.
Linguistic Data Consortium
A consortium that creates and distributes lexicons, speech and text databases, and other resources. Some are restricted to members only.
Linguistic Society of America
The official site of this scholarly society.
Modern Language Association
The official site of this international scholarly association.
OLAC: Open Language Archives Community
Aims to create a virtual library of language resources. Includes archives related to language and culture and open source language tools.
TESOL
A professional association for teachers of english to speakers of other languages.

Ask a Linguist
Questions submitted to this site will be answered by a professional linguist.
CATESOL
A list of web sites for ESL teachers and students.
Center for Applied Linguistics.
Links to online resources in linguistics and language teaching, including ESL.
Dictionary.com
Links to dictionaries, thesauri, and writing sources.
Ethnologue: Languages of the World
A searchable database on the languages of the world.
iLoveLanguages
Resources devoted to language learning and education.
Languages on the Web
Links to the top 100 language sites on the web.
Linguist List
A list of websites and a discussion forum.
Linguistic Resources on the Internet
A list of web resources by subtopic.
FL Teach: Foreign Language Teaching Forum
Useful list of resources for language teachers, including ESL.
Yamada Language Center @ University of Oregon
Language-related links, including electronic newsgroups.
yourDictionary.com