Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

French 270

Websites/Online Archives

Project Gutenberg

Author searches produce listed works with indexed records. E-books can be downloaded free of charge. Verlaine, Rimbaud, Lamartine, etc. are all represented.

Hugo (Les contemplations)

Google Books

A good source for finding works that are available in the public domain. Searching under the names of particular authors usually yields good results – e.g. “Rimbaud”.

Open Library

This resource is helpful for finding e-books. Author searches often reveal good results, though do not always link to full text. Be sure to select the “Only show ebooks” box to narrow results to available titles.

Poets.org

Offers brief guides to poetic movements such as surrealism and symbolism and includes links to related authors. The site acts as a good starting point and includes some relevant bibliographical references. Be sure to use the advanced search option to input keywords.

La Nouvelle Décadence

This site includes selected works and bibliographies of Rimbaud, Baudelaire, and Verlaine.

Gallica: Images et Textes du XIXe Siècle Francophone

This site is the gateway to the digitized holdings of the French National Library. Large holdings are accessible.

The ARTFL Project

2000 texts in French, ranging from classic works of literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with some medieval and Renaissance texts. A Provencal database includes 38 texts in their original spellings.

Littérature française IntraText

This site links to texts in French of the works of Baudelaire, Hugo, Mallarmé, Rimbaud, etc.

The France of Victor Hugo

This website was designed for a graduate level course in French history. It contains information on Romanticism, Hugo, 19th century literature, society, and more.

Poetes.com

This excellent website in French dedicates pages to Baudelaire, Lamartine, Verlaine, Mallarmé, Rimbaud, and Hugo. It also gives pages to literary movements including Romanticism, Parnasse, and Symbolism. The site links to primary sources.

LitGloss

This website contains texts of selected works in French, including those of Apollinaire, Baudelaire, Hugo, Lamartine, Prévert, Rimbaud, and Verlaine. It also provides brief contextual information about authors.

Grande Bibliotheque Poetique

Links to works in French of Apollinaire, Baudelaire, Hugo, Lamartine, Mallarme, Rimbaud, Verlaine, and more.

ABU : la Bibliothèque Universelle

This site provides texts in French of Lamartine, Hugo, and Mallarmé.

Athena

Another good repository of online texts in French of Baudelaire, Hugo, Rimbaud, Verlaine, and others.

Club des Poetes

Texts in French of Apollinaire, Baudelaire, Hugo, Mallarmé, Rimbaud, Verlaine, and others. Somewhat strangely laid out, and not intuitive to use.

L’Encyclopédie de L’Agora

This site has excellent information on both poets and poetic movements, and is especially useful for its lists of relevant resources and links to primary texts.

Toute La Poesie

This website links to texts of works by Appolinaire, Baudelaire, Hugo, Lamartine, Mallarmé, Prévert, Rimbaud, Verlaine, and others.

Le site de poésie de Marie…

This site provides texts of Appolinaire, Baudelaire, Hugo, Mallarmé, Prévert, Rimbaud, Verlaine, and others.