SJSU Research Guides: XIXth Century French Literature: Electronic Texts

Electronic Texts and Documents

Note: all of these resources are licensed for Dartmouth users only, except for Bartelby and Project Gutenberg. In addition, the Dartmouth Library Catalog provides access to thousands of electronic books. Search the catalog by author or title, and choose "WEB Resources" from the drop-down menu under the search box.

Literature Online
The world's largest database of literature and criticism, with full text of 350,000+ literary works. An indispensable resource for researching and teaching English, American, and world literatures.
Early English Books Online
Bibliographic citations and links to facsimile image files for nearly every book published in England from 1475 to 1700. Contains over 100,000 documents.
Eighteenth-Century Collections Online
A digital collection of eighteenth-century British texts. When complete, will contain images of every significant English-language title published in the UK between 1701 and 1800.
Early American Imprints
Bibliographic citations and facsimile images of books published in the American colonies and the early Republic from 1639 to 1800. Currently contains over 30,000 documents with more being added every day.
Women Writers Project
A full-text database of over 200 English texts by women writers from 1400 through 1850.
Bartelby: Great Books Online
A free online resource for literary texts and reference books such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, and thesauri.
Project Gutenberg
A database of plain-text electronic books, mostly classics of English and American literature and reference works.
Columbia Granger's World of Poetry
Searchable database of 250,000 full-text poems and 450,000 citations.
Empire Online
A searchable full-text collection of primary documents relating to Empire Studies.

Open Access Websites

General

Langue du XIXe siècle
Napoleonica.org - Archives et documents napoléoniens
Pamphlets and Periodicals of the French Revolution of 1848
Paris: Capital of the 19th Century (see section on 19th century authors)
Yale French Language and Literature Resource Guide
Gallica: Images et Textes du XIXe Siècle Francophone
Revues.org - Centre pour l'édition électronique ouvert
Europeana - Millions of digital items from European libraries and museums
ATHENA - Textes d'auteurs d'expression française

Balzac

La comédie humaine
Balzac's Paris - A Guided Tour

Sand

Les amis des George Sand

Flaubert

Gustave Flaubert

Zola

Les Archives Emile Zola
AIZEN - International Association for Multidisciplinary Approaches and Comparative Studies related to Emile Zola

Huysmans

J.-K. Huysmans