Public Health and MPH Program

Search PubMed for articles from journals in public health, health administration, health education and related disciplines. You can create a MyNCBI account to save and re-run your searches.

1300+ full-text journals available to support nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This resource also provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheet and quick lesson disease overviews, and continuing education modules.

PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA) contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines, dating from the 1800s. PsycINFO is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.

This abstract and citation database covers thousands of scholarly journals, books, and conference proceedings. Covering a broad range of disciplines, Scopus enables one to track, analyze, and visualize research. Output data at the institutional and author levels are available. Authors will find h-index, Source Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP), and citation counts helpful in demonstrating the impact of their work.

Multidisciplinary and cited reference searching.

SPORTDiscus covers sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, and much more.

The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) provides access to educational literature and resources.

The ABI/INFORM Collection is comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as The Economist and Sloan Management Review, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. Also provides valuable historical perspective, with journals and other material dating back to the early 1900s.

The Cochrane Library is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Published on a quarterly basis, the Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care. Download the user guide.

Note: Steps to create a personal account when off campus:
1. Go directly to the Cochrane library website [bypassing your Tower ID authentication].
2. Use the "Sign in" link in the top right corner to either login to an existing account or create a new account.
a. New Accounts: Complete the registration process and SJSU email validation. Then login to your account
b. Existing customers: Log in using your Cochrane Library personal login and password.
3. When you successfully login, this information will appear in the top right corner as Signed in as "your name"
4. Once you complete this login, then return to The Cochrane Library using the link that requires your Tower ID authentication.

Coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials publications

Offers access to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides in-depth and non-evaluative abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800 serial publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. The database backfile dates to 1952.

Authoritative review articles, summaries, evaluations and bibliographies of research literature in many disciplines. Reviews the most significant primary research literature to guide researchers to the principal contributions of their field and help them keep up to date in their area of research. Includes Life Sciences and Biomedical Collections including the following titles: Analytical Chemistry, Animal Biosciences, Anthropology, Astronomy and Astrophysics, Biochemistry, Biomedical Engineering, Biophysics, Cancer Biology, Cell and Developmental Biology, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Clinical Psychology, Condensed Matter Physics, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Ecology Evolution and Systematics, Entomology, Environment and Resources, Fluid Mechanics, Food Science and Technology, Genetics, Genomics and Human Genetics, Immunology, Law and Social Science, Linguistics, Marine Science, Materials Research, Medicine, Microbiology, Neuroscience, Nuclear and Particle Science, Nutrition, Organizational Psychology and Organizational Behavior, Pathology, Pharmacology and Toxicology, Physical Chemistry, Physiology, Phytopathology, Plant Biology, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health, Sociology, Statistics and its Application, Virology, and Vision Science.

A broad array of basic social sciences journals, including interdisciplinary fields. Covers a wide array of areas, including addiction studies, ethics, public welfare, urban studies, and much more.

Multidisciplinary full text, peer reviewed academic journals that support scholarly research in key areas of academic study.

Coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials publications

This collection includes newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press, and offers diverse viewpoints and perspectives.

Subject Area(s):‎ News & Newspapers, Literature & Language, Social Sciences, History, The Arts