Psychology

`A useful book for the specialist engaged in assessment and research'. - Journal of Analytical Psychology `This book is a must-have for the bookshelf if you are a student or practitioner in the fields of psychology or even sociology. It will be of equal value to anyone working in the fields of brain injury, mental health or related fields. It is a handbook of references, terms and abbreviations related to neuroanatomy, psychology, medicine and their experiments and therapies, as well as dipping in and out of statistical processes and their meanings. The book will have broad appeal from student to practitioner to doctor. This book is a new and improved second edition. I only wish I had known of the existence of the first edition as it will most certainly prove a valuable tool.' - The Encephalitis Society The fully revised and updated second edition of this well-established reference provides over 400 new or improved terms, and is an exhaustive guide to the key terms used in psychological testing, assessment and measurement. Over 3000 definitions offer clear explanations of statistical procedures commonly used in psychology; major psychometric and other psychological tests; categories of mental illness, mental disability, and brain damage; frequently used medical terms; basic neuroanatomy; and types of psychological therapies. This book is suitable for all levels of understanding, from undergraduate and postgraduate students to practitioners of psychology and associated fields, with particular attention to statistical terms used in typical university syllabuses, as well as tests commonly available in computer packages and cited in psychological journals and similar publications.

Organized according to the sequence mental health professionals follow when conducting an assessment, Groth-Marnat's Handbook of Psychological Assessment, Sixth Edition covers principles of assessment, evaluation, referral, treatment planning, and report writing. Written in a practical, skills-based manner, the Sixth Edition provides guidance on the most efficient methods for selecting and administering tests, interpreting assessment data, how to integrate test scores and develop treatment plans as well as instruction on ways to write effective, client-oriented psychological reports. This text provides through coverage of the most commonly used assessment instruments including the Wechsler Intelligence Scales, Wechsler Memory Scales, Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory, Personality Assessment Inventory, Millon Clinical Multiaxial Inventory, NEO Personality, Rorschach, Thematic Apperception Test, and brief assessment instruments for treatment planning, monitoring, and outcome assessment.

An easy-to-understand overview of the key concepts of psychological testing Fully updated and revised, the second edition of Essentials of Psychological Testing surveys the basic principles of psychometrics, succinctly presents the information needed to understand and evaluate tests, and introduces readers to the major contemporary reference works in the field. This engaging, practical overview of the most relevant psychometric concepts and techniques provides the foundation necessary for advanced study in the field of psychological assessment. Each clear, well-organized chapter includes new examples and references, featuring callout boxes highlighting key concepts, bulleted points, and extensive illustrative material, as well as "Test Yourself" questions that help gauge and reinforce readers' grasp of the information covered. The author's extensive experience and deep understanding of the concepts presented are evident throughout the book, particularly when readers are reminded that tests are tools and that, like all tools, they have limitations. Starting with a basic introduction to psychological tests, their historical development, and their uses, the book also covers the statistical procedures most frequently used in testing, the frames of reference for score interpretation, reliability, validity and test item considerations, as well as the latest guidelines for test selection, administration, scoring and reporting test results. Whether as an orientation for those new to the field, a refresher for those already acquainted with it, or as reference for seasoned clinicians, this book is an invaluable resource. SUSANA URBINA, PHD, is Professor Emeritus of Psychology at the University of North Florida, where she taught courses in psychological testing and assessment. A Diplomate of the American Board of Assessment Psychology and a licensed psychologist, Dr. Urbina practiced in the field of psychological assessment for over a decade. She coauthored the seventh edition of Psychological Testing with Anne Anastasi and has published numerous articles and reviews in the area of psychological testing.

KEY FEATURES: A narrative writing style enhances accessibility and keeps readers engaged. Chapters begin and end with relatable examples to make the material more memorable and easier to learn. Chapter-opening learning objectives introduce students to the material and prompt them to identify the key takeaways in their reading. Conclusion sections in each chapter integrate information that students can review to check their comprehension. Chapter-ending discussion and research questions provide opportunities for students to further engage with the material to master chapter content.

Psychometrics and Psychological Assessment: Principles and Applications reports on contemporary perspectives and models on psychological assessment and their corresponding measures. It highlights topics relevant to clinical and neuropsychological domains, including cognitive abilities, adaptive behavior, temperament, and psychopathology.Moreover, the book examines a series of standard as well as novel methods and instruments, along with their psychometric properties, recent meta-analytic studies, and their cross-cultural applications. Discusses psychometric issues and empirical studies that speak to same Explores the family context in relation to children's behavioral outcomes Features major personality measures as well as their cross cultural variations Identifies the importance of coping and resilience in assessing personality and psychopathology Examines precursors of aggression and violence for prediction and prevention

The definitive guide to the latest edition of the Cognitive Assessment System Essentials of CAS2 Assessment is a comprehensive guide to the successful administration of the updated CAS2. Written by leading cognitive assessment experts, the book discusses the latest research and thinking on PASS (Planning, Attention-Arousal, Simultaneous and Successive) theory and includes case studies that demonstrate the use of CAS2 with several types of diagnostic groups and integration with other instruments. A companion website offers additional tools and information to help busy professionals make optimal use of the CAS2. This is the first book to provide comprehensive, step-by-step guidelines for administering, scoring, and interpreting the latest edition of the Cognitive Assessment System (CAS2). While the outcome of the test depends upon the child's performance, the reliability and accuracy of the analysis depends largely upon the performance of the test administrator. Essentials of CAS2 Assessment offers detailed insight on topics such as: Fair assessment of diverse populations Assessment of children with comorbid conditions Changes to the CAS2 rating scale and form Nuances of the three-tier model Each chapter in the book highlights key concepts, bulleted points, and actual test questions. The CAS2 is a valuable tool in the detection of learning disabilities, ADHD, TBI, retardation, and giftedness. Essentials of CAS2 Assessment is the guidebook professionals need to ensure the CAS2 test is applied and analyzed accurately so that the results can be applied to the maximum benefit of the child.

This book reviews the statistical procedures used to detect measurement bias. Measurement bias is examined from a general latent variable perspective so as to accommodate different forms of testing in a variety of contexts including cognitive or clinical variables, attitudes, personality dimensions, or emotional states. Measurement models that underlie psychometric practice are described, including their strengths and limitations. Practical strategies and examples for dealing with bias detection are provided throughout. The book begins with an introduction to the general topic, followed by a review of the measurement models used in psychometric theory. Emphasis is placed on latent variable models, with introductions to classical test theory, factor analysis, and item response theory, and the controversies associated with each, being provided. Measurement invariance and bias in the context of multiple populations is defined in chapter 3 followed by chapter 4 that describes the common factor model for continuous measures in multiple populations and its use in the investigation of factorial invariance. Identification problems in confirmatory factor analysis are examined along with estimation and fit evaluation and an example using WAIS-R data. The factor analysis model for discrete measures in multiple populations with an emphasis on the specification, identification, estimation, and fit evaluation issues is addressed in the next chapter. An MMPI item data example is provided. Chapter 6 reviews both dichotomous and polytomous item response scales emphasizing estimation methods and model fit evaluation. The use of models in item response theory in evaluating invariance across multiple populations is then described, including an example that uses data from a large-scale achievement test. Chapter 8 examines item bias evaluation methods that use observed scores to match individuals and provides an example that applies item response theory to data introduced earlier in the book. The book concludes with the implications of measurement bias for the use of tests in prediction in educational or employment settings. A valuable supplement for advanced courses on psychometrics, testing, measurement, assessment, latent variable modeling, and/or quantitative methods taught in departments of psychology and education, researchers faced with considering bias in measurement will also value this book. nbsp;