Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Communication Studies

COMM 101 Handout, Slides, Accounts, Google Scholar & Ulrich's

Important Library Accounts:

  • Interlibrary Loan (aka ILS, ILLiad): Get articles (and book chapters) electronically when they are not available through SJSU. NOTE: No print books are available at this time.
  • RefWorks: Gather and organize your citations and Create a Bibliography in APA or MLA Format.

Google ScholarBe sure to start from the Library Home Page: SJSU: Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Library. Then, click the Google Scholar link from above the Search Box (to the right of OneSearch). As you search, look for the "Find it@SJSU" or "Get it@SJSU." Hint: This link is sometimes hidden under the double arrows. To limit to Communication Journals, find Advanced Search (under the lines on the upper left) and put Communication in the "Return articles published in" box. To make sure a Journal is "Peer-Reviewed" or Refereed, go to Ulrich's (database) with the Journal Title. Need a Specific Article? Put the title in quotation marks (using the library's Google Scholar link): Helpful Tutorial: Find a Specific Article.

Ulrich's Periodicals DirectoryWhen in doubt about a journal title being Peer-Reviewed, go to Ulrich's. It can be found under the A-Z Articles & Databases link from the main Library page: library.sjsu.edu (under the Search Box). Click on "U" and then Ulrich's Periodicals Directory. Put the Journal Title in the Search Box. On the result screen, if your Journal title has a referee's shirt (icon), then the title is Refereed (or Peer-reviewed).

 

APA & Annotated Bibs

Communication Journals from Library Database

One way to limit to Communication Journals from a Database is to put "Communication" in the Search Box and select "Publication Name" from the drop-down (Select a field) area (and then use an additional search box for your topic). This means that the journal will have "Communication" in its title and will often be a Communication Studies Journal. You will still have to check these results and deselect any non-Communication specific titles. This example is from an EBSCO Database, such as Communication Source, and it may be applicable to other databases. For many classes, you will also want to choose the limiter: Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Journals ONLY.

Communication Journals in Google Scholar

To limit to Communication Journals in Google Scholar, find Advanced Search (under the lines on the upper left in Google Scholar) and put Communication in the "Return articles published in" box. To make sure a Journal is "Peer-Reviewed" or Refereed, go to Ulrich's (database) with the Journal Title. *Tip: If you don't see a link from SJSU, look under the double arrows (More) below the entry. Look for "GetIt@SJSU" for more information such as a print book or a link to Interlibrary Loan (to request a title).

eBooks (and eBook Chapters): Start with OneSearch

Books contain wonderful background information and can be used to find a breadth and depth not available in all articles. Although print books are not available at this time, you can limit to eBooks:

eBooks are searchable, and you might find the perfect chapter. This is often like finding a pertinent research article.