The California State Normal School moved to San Jose, "where it became a fully-pledged state institution separate from any city control."1
"Owing to the lack of housing facilities and the heavy drain on finances due to the removal of the [normal] school to San Jose, it was not until 1872 that a training school was established there."3 This is in line with the fact that there is no mention of the Training School in the 1871-1872 Course Catalog, which is the earliest course catalog that the SJSU Special Collections & Archives possesses in its collection.2
"You ask for an article on the old Normal School. In order to make the contrast sharp and telling, I will speak first of the old building. Any one looking at the picture, as it hangs on your wall, will observe that it was much more imposing and beautiful than the present structure. It seemed, however, to have been built for outside appearance rather than for inside accommodation. There was room for a school of four hundred, but accommodations for none.
"When I came into the school, in 1872, only the basement and a part of the first floor were completed far enough for occupancy. Moreover, there was not a yard of carpet or matting in the building– only bare walls with enough very common chairs for the use of teachers and a few visitors. There were perhaps, 150 student desks and four for the teachers. There was practically no illustrative apparatus, a very small library, and four cheap clocks.
"Morning exercises were held in the basement, and recitations in four rooms on the first floor.
"Of the school, this may be said: The faculty consisted of a principal, vice principal and two assistants. I came in as the fifth member, avowedly Professor of Natural Science, but teaching anything from music to methods. There was no training school– the present bug-bear, no clubs– Browining [sic] or otherwise; no societies– none of the many things that surround the students of to-day, and that tends so much toward both comfort and culture.
"There were, however, a body of willing, earnest students and a faithful body of teachers. Notwithstanding many restrictions, fairly good work was done. And it had to be done. The Normal School had to win its way into public favor. The whole idea was, on this coast, comparatively new. Few people had any clear idea of what a Normal School really was. To a much greater extent than to-day, every graduate became an exponent of the school …"
"The board of trustees made a rather wide search for a teacher for the same, going so far as to carry on correspondence with educators in the East relative to a competent teacher. The new building had also progressed to the point where room in it could be fitted up for a class for the training school. Mr. Allen states that 'as soon as the school was permanently located, steps were taken to organize this indispensable department of every true Normal School.'
"As the head of this newly organized department, the board of trustees selected Miss Mary J. Titus, a graduate of the Oswego Normal School. Thus was the former connection with this school continued, which had been made when Miss Matilda Lewis, a graduate of the same institution, was made head of the training school in 1869."3
Finally, in November of 1872, the training school was established again.1 This corresponds to the earliest record of the Training School in the 1872-1873 Course Catalog, which states that the Training School was “re-opened in November."2
"This important auxiliary of every thoroughly organized Normal School was re-opened in November. The number of pupils was limited to forty. Almost double this number have applied for admission. A new class of forty will be formed in June, and another in November. These three classes will afford to the Normal pupils ample facilities for observing and for practicing the principles taught them in lectures on 'Methods of Teaching.'"2
"The training school was augmented the next year [1873] by the addition of two more classes, one higher and the other lower than the one already organized. Arrangements were made with San Jose whereby the city agreed to pay the normal school $150 per month for those pupils who attended the training school. The city also offered to grant $75 per month additional for another class in the training school if the board of trustees saw fit to organize another class. This arrangement indicates that a friendly and cooperative spirit existed between the normal school and the public schools of San Jose. Everything must have been going very well at this time for the board authorized the principal 'to make such arrangements as he thought best with reference to continuing the Training School in operation during vacation.' As a result of this authorization, the training school was continued for six weeks during the vacation, the city of San Jose paying the teachers."3
"Is to be continued and somewhat increased. In this the pupil-teachers will find ample opportunity to apply practically the instruction received in methods of teaching, and members of the Senior Class will be required to demonstrate to the Faculty of the Normal School their ability to teach well, before being recommended for graduation."2
The training school is continued and increased in size; seniors are to demonstrate success in teaching ability prior to graduation.1
The previous arrangements made in 1873 by the principal, "however, for some reason not entirely clear, were not to continue. In 1874 the board of trustees authorized the executive committee of the board and the principal to make arrangements with San Jose for the training school, but with the provision that if these arrangements failed, then the training department was to be opened as a 'Tuition School.' These arrangements apparently failed for later in the same year the board adopted a tuition for those attending the training school. Allen reports that this school was 'independent of the city schools, and soon became nearly self-sustaining.'"3
During the second term of the 1874-1875 academic year, "a satisfactory agreement could not be reached with the San Jose board of education concerning enrollment in the trainings school, [and] it was separated from the public schools, [making] a 'tuition school,' and soon became nearly self-supporting."1
"A well-organized Training School is connected with the Normal School, and in this the pupil-teachers will find ample opportunity to apply practically the instruction received in methods of teaching, and members of the Senior Class will be required to demonstrate to the Faculty of the Normal School their ability to teach well, before being recommended for graduation."3
The same description is used until 1883.
"In 1876 the board of trustees instructed the principal to give 'to pupils of the Middle Class practice in the Training School so far as practicable.'"3 This provision was "incorporated into the course of study of the normal school for that year and given during the second semester. The arrangement to allow pupils of the middle class to have practice teaching was made necessary because at this time the normal school adopted a three-year program, but authorized the granting of elementary diplomas at the end of the middle year. If all the practice teaching had been left to the senior year, those who took the elementary diploma would not have had any opportunity to gain any practice before going out into the public schools. It is interesting to note that this arrangement did not prove satisfactory and the board of trustees abandoned it in 1880, after which date the elementary diploma was not granted at the end of the second year until several years later."3
The arrangement of allowing pupils of the Middle Class practice in the Training School from previous years "did not prove satisfactory and the board of trustees abandoned it in 1880, after which date the elementary diploma was not granted at the end of the second year until several years later."3
"The fire of 1880 rendered the training school homeless along with the normal school. This, however, did not prevent the work from being carried on. Shortly after the fire 'the Training Department held its sessions in the two small buildings hastily fitted up in the school year.'"3
"The training department moved into the now building as soon as it was completed in 1881. It remained housed in the main building until it was virtually crowded out by the increase in attendance in the normal school."3
From the 1883-1884 Course Catalog onward, the Training School was referred to as the Training Department.2
"The Normal School has a well organized Training Department, and in this the pupil-teachers will find ample opportunity to apply practically the instruction received in methods of teaching, and members of the Senior Class will be required to demonstrate to the Faculty of the Normal School their ability to teach well, before being recommended for graduation."2
Starting in the 1886-1887 Course Catalog, the description of the Training Department slightly changes.2
"The Normal School has a well organized Training Department, and in this the pupil-teachers will find ample opportunity to apply practically the instruction received in methods of teaching, and members of the Senior Class will be required to demonstrate to the Faculty of the Normal School their ability to teach well, before being recommended for graduation.
"The Model Class, connected with this department, will afford excellent opportunity for observation, and will in its course of study correspond very closely to the highest grade in the Grammar Schools of the State."2
Starting in the 1889-1890 Course Catalog, the description of the Training Department slightly changes.2
"The Normal School has a well organized Training Department, and in this the pupil-teachers will find ample opportunity to apply practically the instruction received in methods of teaching, and members of the Senior Class will be required to demonstrate to the Faculty of the Normal School their ability to teach well, before being recommended for graduation.
"The Training Department covers nine years of school work, thus affording excellent opportunity to observe and teach in every grade included in the public schools of the State."2
Throughout the history of the Training School, Grades 1 through 8 have more or less always been offered based on the Course Catalogs.2 From time to time, up to Grade 9 can be seen.2
1Gilbert, B. F. & Burdick, C. 1980. Washington square, 1857-1979: The history of San Jose State University. San Jose State University.
2San Jose State Normal School and San Jose State Teachers College Course Catalogs Collection, MSS-2010-05-05, San José State University Library Special Collections & Archives.
3Walter, A. 1933. The origin and development of the San Jose State Teachers College [Doctoral dissertation, Stanford University]. San José State University Library, Special Collections & Archives.