SJSU Research Guides: Psychology: Psychology Databases & Research Resources

General Psychology Databases

PsycINFO is your discipline database in Psychology. It's recommended that you start your searches with it.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA) contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines, dating from the 1800s. PsycINFO is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
psy psych psycho psychinfo psych info psyc

ScienceDirect and PubMed focus more on the General and Health sciences, but also contain Psychology related research.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and ebooks in science, technology and medicine (STM), arts, humanities and social sciences. Click on "Journals and Books" link on the website to filter by subscribed, open access and complimentary access to know what is available to you. The Advanced Search screen also allows you to filter by subscribed, open access and complimentary access, and subject areas to know what is available to you.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary full text, peer reviewed academic journals that support scholarly research in key areas of academic study.
academic search premier
PubMed This link opens in a new window
For tips on searching PubMed, please visit the tutorials guide: learn.nlm.nih.gov/rest/training-packets.

ProquestProQuest Dissertations and Theses
Primary database for doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Full text of more than 1.9 million of these titles is available in PDF format. Represents over 1,000 graduate schools and universities in North America and around the world. Dissertations from 1980 & master's theses from 1988 include abstracts written by the author.

DSM-5 This link opens in a new window
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders is the standard classification of mental disorders used by mental health professionals in the United States. Subscription also includes DSM-5® Handbook of Differential Diagnosis and DSM-5® Clinical Cases and more
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
A collection of psychological measures, scales, surveys, and other instruments essential to the research needs of professionals, students, and educators across the behavioral and social sciences. PsycTESTS indexes a wide variety of test types and instruments— including aptitude tests, personality scales, and cognitive functioning measures.
psy psych psycho psychinfo psych info psyc

Citation Network Analysis
A guide to citation network analysis and how to use associated tools

We have a video for that too!

You will need to set up Google Scholar the first time you use it on your computer.
Here's how:

Visit scholar.google.com
Click on the upper left corner icon
gear settings icon
Click on "Library Link"
Searh for "San Jose State University", check the box, Save
Now your searches will have FindIt@SJSU link that is attached to each result.