This is the "Home" page of the "Military History Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Military History Resources   Tags: historical_research, history, military_history, subject_guide  

This Subject Guide provides links to a wide variety of websites and other resources relating to the study of military history.
Last Updated: Feb 28, 2014 URL: http://libguides.sjsu.edu/militaryhistory Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Featured Photo

 

Burdick Military History Project

The Burdick Military History Project maintains a study room and book collection on the SJSU campus for use by students and other researchers.  The center is located in Industrial Studies room 239.  For more information, please contact:

Professor Jonathan Roth

Office: Business Tower (BT) 561

Email:  jonathan.roth@sjsu.edu

Phone:  408-924-5505

 

Veterans Services Office, San Jose State University

The Veterans Services Office, as a part of the Office of the Registrar at SJSU, assists veterans with state and federal education benefit programs.  More information can be found on their website. 

 

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS

SJSU Special Collections & Archives

SJSU Special Collections (5th floor) has a number of collections relating to both civilian and military aspects from the era of WWII.  Among them are the following:

War Poster Collection - containing propaganda war posters from the US and other nations.

Charles B. Burdick Military History Collection - containing the research files of this distinguished SJSU Professor and military historian.  the WWII portion of this collection contains publications form the German High Command, reports from other Allied and Axis governments, the legal proceedings from the International Military Tribunal for the Far East (war crimes trials), and a large quantity of other ephemera, maps, newspaper clippings, reports and scrapbooks.

-  Flahtery Collection: Japanese Internment Records -containing documents and photographs relating to the establishment and administrative workings of the War Relocation Authority, the Western Defense Command and the Wartime Civil Control Administration.

Willard E. Schmidt Collection - containing the papers of Willard Schmidt, the Chief of Internal Security for the War Relocation Authority and the Tule Lake Internment/Segregation Camp.  Tule Lake was set aside for handling the most "suspect" of Japanese-Americans, and this collection contains the administrative papers for the camp as well as a collection of photographs.

Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Collection -  The CCC was established by Franklin Roosevelt as a worrk relief program during the Great Depression.  Young men, 18 to 24 years of age, were engaged to work on the management of natural resources in National Parks and on other public lands.  They constructed roads, built trails, planted trees, and in the meantime earned a wage and contributed to the environmental health of the nation.  This collection contains documentation on this program, particularly from the period 1939 to 1945.

RESOURCES FOR COLLECTORS

The following organizations are primarily for collectors of militaria, but also can be a source of information for identifying uniforms, insignia, equipment, and other objects which may be in a researcher's possession or appear in photographs.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Nyle C. Monday
Contact Info
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Library
One Washington Square
San Jose, CA 95192-0028
(408) 808-2041
Send Email
 

Featured Photo

 

Quote:

War is a series of catastrophies that results in a victory. Georges Clemenceau

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip