SJSU Research Guides: Immigration: Other Resources

Refugees

Refugees Under international law, a refugee is a person who is outside his/her country of nationality or habitual residence; has a well-founded fear of persecution because of his/her race, religion, nationality, membership in a particular social group or political opinion; and is unable or unwilling to avail himself/herself of the protection of that country, or to return there, for fear of persecution. They are distinguished from economic migrants who have voluntarily left their country of origin for economic reasons.

Refugees and asylees approved in fiscal year 1996, by country, and refugee applicants approved during the 1980s.
http://uscis.gov/graphics/shared/aboutus/statistics/299.htm

Unaccompanied Minors

Department of Homeland Security Unaccompanied Alien Children Apprehensions 2016

Pew Hispanic report 2013

Pew Research report 2014: 12 and under; girls fleeing Honduras

Infoplease report Migrant Minors: FAQs, Facts, and Statistics

Reports

Unlawfully Present Aliens, Higher Education, In-State Tuition, and Finacnial Aid: Legal Analysis. By Kate M. Manuel. Congressional Research Service. 3/28/2014.

Unauthorized Alien Students: Issues and "DREAM Act" Legislation. Andorra Brono. Congressional Research Service. 6/19/2012.

Immigration Detainers: Legal Issues. Kate M. Manuel. Congressional Research Service. 10/6/2014

Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA): Frequently Asked Questions. Andorra Bruno. Congressional Research Service. 9/30/2014.

Unaccomplanied Alien Children: Potential Factor Contributing to Recent Immigraiton. William A. Kandel, et. al. Congressional Research Service. 7/2/2014.

Agricultural Guest Workers: Legislative Activity in the 113th Congress. Andorra Bruno. Congressional Research Service. 7/23/2013.

In-State Tuition and Unauthorized Immigrant Students. 2/19/2014

Immigration: Policy Considerations Related to Guest Worker Programs. Andorra Bruno. Congressional Research Service. 3/16/2010.

Unauthorized Immigration Coverage. Pew Research Center. 2/4/2015

Newspapers

Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
The Los Angeles Times (also known as the LA Times) is a daily newspaper published in Los Angeles, California and distributed throughout the Western United States.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers The San Francisco Chronicle This link opens in a new window
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. (1865-1922). From Jan 1, 1865 to Aug 31, 1868, known as The Daily Dramatic Chronicle; From Sept 1, 1868 to Aug 14, 1869, known as Daily Morning Chronicle; and from Aug 15, 1869, known as San Francisco Chronicle. Help Guide
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text, full image, cover-to-cover access to the New York Times.
U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
From ProQuest: Users may search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives from the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Content includes access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. Also included: CBS News 60 MInutes, US Hispanic Newsstream, US Major Dailies, US Midwest Newsstream, US North Central Newsstream, US Northeast Newsstream, US South Newsstream

Immigration

Videos

WWW

Refugees

Unaccompanied Minors

Reports

Newspapers