Databases by Title A to ZDatabases by Course NumberKey LIS Databases Compared
This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Library and Information Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library and Information Science   Tags: information_science, library_information_science, library_science, subject_guide  

A Guide to Library and Information Science
Last Updated: Apr 8, 2014 URL: http://libguides.sjsu.edu/lis Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

LIS Cross Search

Compare results/find additional terms in multiple databases.

Spacer
 

Help: Library Account

For library account questions, contact:

Jeff Frank
Senior Access Services Coordinator
Email: jeff.frank@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 808-2326

King Library Links

  • Create a PIN
    From the Accounts page, create a Library PIN by choosing a 4-digit PIN (you'll be asked to enter it twice).
  • Student Computing Services
    To reset your PIN or for questions about a database which is not working correctly.
  • Ask a Librarian (General & Subject Specialist)
    For general assistance by email, telephone, and 24/7 chat, as well as links to subject specialists (i.e., education, health, justice studies, business, art, etc.)
  • Link +
    If you live near a Link+ library in CA, Reno, or Las Vegas, use this first to borrow books.
  • Interlibrary Services
    aka Interlibrary Loan or ILLIAD. Helpful for borrowing books (and getting some articles). King Library can mail books to you (no charge), and you mail them back.
  • Student Technology Training Center (NEW)
    If you live anywhere near SJSU, come into the library for technology training and support.
  • WorldCat
    Find libraries near you with print and electronic resources.
 

Welcome!

This guide is designed to help you with library resources. Use the tabs above for resources regularly used by LIS students and faculty.

Library 203 Materials

LOTSS (Library Online Tutorial for SLIS Students): Includes a short video and 3 modules introducing library databases

Optional: Lingometer: http://tutorials.sjlibrary.org/tutorial/lingometer/  Test your LIS vocabulary knowledge!

  • King Library Orientation
    The Library Orientation includes two videos and four modules about getting started with library materials (approximately 25 minutes).

Getting Started with Library Accounts

1.  Create a Library Account & PIN: Go to the Library Account page and create a 4-digit PIN with your name and SJSU ID number (you will be asked to enter your PIN twice). Remember your PIN -- you will need it for SJSU database and ebook access.

2.  Set up an account with Interlibrary Services once you have your Library Account. Set your status correctly; SJSU Distance indicates students or faculty members who are exclusively engaged in online classes (SJSU Distance Graduate Students OR SJSU Distance Faculty). ILLiad Sign-on Tutorial will show you how to sign up as:

  • SJSU Distance Graduate Students
  • SJSU Distance Faculty.

3. Set your preferences in Google Scholar, a tool that searches scholarly publications on the Web

  • Go to Google Scholar.
  • Click the Settings button Gear icon (under "More") and then Library Links (top).
  • Type San Jose State University into the search box and press the Search button.
  • Check the SJSU GetText box.
  • Save your Scholar Preferences (to SJSU).
  • For RefWorks citation links, use the Bibliography Manager (in Settings).

Or go to the Google Scholar tutorial for a step-by-step view of this process.

4.  Set up an account with RefWorks once you have your Library Account. RefWorks allows you to create a personal database of references and generate bibliographies in a variety of formats. You will need the group code to access RefWorks off campus. (Go to Get Library Passwords).  

 

LibGuide Links

Let us know what you think about LibGuides by clicking on comments (below). For more information on LibGuides please visit SpringShare

Encore Presentation

Encore Synergy Presentation:(link opens a Collaborate room). Presentation by John Wenzler, former Digital Futures Dean at King Library, about the new catalog system implemented Fall, 2012 (Recording: 9/26/12).

 

LIBR 202: Database Presentation

Database Presentation for LIBR 202: April 6, 2014:

Librarian

Profile Image
Marci Hunsaker
Contact Info
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Library
Marci.Hunsaker@sjsu.edu
(408) 808-2094
Send Email

Online Availability

Spring Collaborate Room: Mondays (April 21 & May 5) 6:30-7 pm (Pacific)Other appointments by request.

1/27/14: Recording for "Accessing Treasure from King Library" (articles, ebooks & print books, oh, my!)

Getting Your Materials

  • Online Student's Guide
    How to get library materials from off-campus.
  • Link+ Libraries (CA/NV)
    A list of the member libraries in California and Nevada.
  • Link+ Visiting Patron program
    A list of libraries which allow a patron from a Link+ library to use a library card in person at another Link+ library.
  • Link+ PickUp Elsewhere
    A list of libraries which allow you to pickup materials while you're away from the library where you are registered.
  • Interlibrary Services
    ILS (Interlibrary Loan/ILLIad): Free service which allows Distance Students to obtain materials that the Library owns, as well as material owned by other libraries. Books can be mailed to a street address (not a P.O. Box).
  • ILLiad for Distance Students: Signing On
    A short tutorial about creating an Interlibrary Services (ILLiad) account.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip