SJSU Research Guides: Nursing: Home

Using the SJSU King Library

1) Log in on our library website with your SJSU ID number and SJSUOne password to access our databases from anywhere off-campus.

2) Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request access to something we don't have in our library, like a book or journal article. You will need to set up an account the first time you use ILL.

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad): Placing a Request

Starting your research project

Have a research project? Need help getting started?

Art of Topic Development
Learn how to go from a vague idea of what you'd like to research to a strong, specific topic.
Finding Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Articles
more...less...
This tutorial provides a quick introduction to finding scholarly, peer-reviewed articles using SJSU's databases. Topics covered include selecting a database, searching on a topic and accessing the full text of articles.
Primary vs Secondary Literature in the Biomedical Sciences
How to differentiate between primary and secondary sources in health research.

Writing a literature review or an annotated bibliography? Try these tips.

What is an annotated bibliography?
Matrix Method for Literature Review
A literature matrix can help you organize your studies in preparation for a literature review, annotated bibliography, or systematic review.

Finding journal articles

Looking for journal articles on a topic?

Start with one of these library databases.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Searches MEDLINE, the leading database of journal articles in the health sciences, including medicine, nursing, the allied health sciences, public health, and the basic sciences. Coverage is 1946 - present.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
1300+ full-text journals available to support nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This resource also provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheet and quick lesson disease overviews, and continuing education modules.
cinhal

You can also try any of the following:

Alt Healthwatch This link opens in a new window
Alternative health research providing the latest information and materials for the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies through 190+ international, and often peer-reviewed, journals.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Published on a quarterly basis, the Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care. Download the user guide.

Note: Steps to create a personal account when off campus:
1. Go directly to the Cochrane library website [bypassing your Tower ID authentication].
2. Use the "Sign in" link in the top right corner to either login to an existing account or create a new account.
a. New Accounts: Complete the registration process and SJSU email validation. Then login to your account
b. Existing customers: Log in using your Cochrane Library personal login and password.
3. When you successfully login, this information will appear in the top right corner as Signed in as "your name"
4. Once you complete this login, then return to The Cochrane Library using the link that requires your Tower ID authentication.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA) contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines, dating from the 1800s. PsycINFO is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
psy psych psycho psychinfo psych info psyc
Trip Medical Database (free version) This link opens in a new window
A clinical search engine linking to evidence-based content, such as clinical practice guidelines, systematic reviews, and primary studies. Each abstract indicates the record's place on the evidence pyramid. Use the PICO search feature to show a limited number of highly-focused results.

Do you need more help searching our databases? Try one of these tutorials first. If you still need help, contact your librarian!

CINAHL Part 1 - Starting Your Search (5:44)
This tutorial series by McMaster University librarians walks you through the basics of searching CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Part 1 of 2 deals with starting a search, including: 1) introduction to the interface; 2) breaking down a question into key concepts; 3) turning concepts into subject headings; 4) and adding subject headings to the search history.
CINAHL Part 2 - Refining Your Search (5:52)
This tutorial series by McMaster University librarians walks you through the basics of searching CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Part 2 of 2 deals with refining a search, including: 1) supplementing subject headings with keywords; 2) combining search terms using operators (AND & OR); 3) applying limits to your results; 4) viewing, saving, exporting database records; 5) and accessing full-text articles.
Searching the Cochrane Library (2:50)
Customizing Google Scholar
more...less...
Learn how to link Google Scholar with SJSU GetText and RefWorks. This will tell you whether an article found on Google Scholar is available through the library's databases.
Lecture Series: Using PubMed to Find High-Quality Literature

Finding books and more with OneSearch

SJSU eBooks can be accessed online anytime with your 9 digit SJSU ID and your OneSJSU password. (Note: Only students with a San Jose Public Library card can access SJPL eBooks.)
Did you know SJSU students, faculty, and staff can borrow books from other CSU campuses? You can request them from within OneSearch; just change the search field from San Jose State Collections to California State University Collections. Your items will be delivered to the SJSU Library in 2-5 days.
Are you a distance student? Use InterLibrary Loans to have a SJSU Library book or course reserves item mailed directly to you. See our Online Students' Guide for more details.

How to cite your sources

The nursing field tends to use the APA citation style, also known as the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.

APA Style from Purdue University's OWL (Online Writing Lab)

Other citation styles commonly used in the health sciences, include:

Use a citation manager to make your citations easier.

Citation Managers
by Anne Marie Engelsen Last Updated Oct 13, 2023 3298 views this year

Test Prep

Khan Academy NCLEX-RN practice questions

Nursing

Your Librarian

Table of Contents