Skip to main content

Chicano/Latino Studies

Introduction

Welcome to the Chicano/Mexican American Studies

Subject Guide!

This guide is designed to help you do research on social, cultural, political, economic, literary, and historical topics related to Chicanos/Mexican Americans. If you'd like learn more about research and online resources, stop by the 1st floor or email/call/or make an appointment with me. 

Finding Books: Library Catalog

 

Books along with other resources are searchable through OneSearch

Do your first search by using the book title, author, or by keyword. Given that you will receive more than book titles (articles and other materials will be included) you may need to limit your search to BOOKS only. See the left-hand menu, under Resource Type and click on Books. Once you begin browsing OneSearch you may find that there are many resources listed on the 5th floor within the Chicano Center Collection, in the Cultural Heritage Center. These materials are available for regular check out. If you should need additional help locating materials or instruction on using the OneSearch catalog or other online databases please ask at the 1st floor or email/call/visit me.

 

Finding Articles: Databases

There are many databases and print indexes to choose from for your research. Depending on your topic and time period you may have to use an array of resources. Given that Chicano/Mexican American studies is an interdisplinary study, there is no one source that will give you everything in one. So you will need to be creative. An often overlooked resource is the bibliography that can be found at the end of related journal articles or in books on your topic. Stop by the Reference Desk for help.

Click here to view some possible article databases.

Library of Congress Subject Headings

The Library Catalog uses the "Library of Congress Subject Headings" (large red books in the Reference Ready section near the Reference Desk) to catalog books. These subject headings are slow to change and sometimes removed from contemporary usage; they are, however, extremely useful in locating books and articles. Although these are subject headings using them as KEYWORDS is an excellent research method. Examples of subject headings:

Examples of some Subject Headings:

  • Mexican Americans 
    • Mexican Americans -- History 
    • Mexican Americans -- Ethnic Identity
  • Mexican American Women
  • Political Refugees - El Salvador
  • Hispanic Americans -- Social Conditions
  • All Souls' Day -- Mexico
  • Mexico -- Social life and Customs

Note: that Mexican Americans/Chicanos/Latinos all fall under the boarder term of Hispanic. Do not limit your searches to just one term. This is especially true when looking at the boarder groups of Latinos like Puerto Ricans, Cubans, Salvadorans, etc. 

Ethnic groups or geographical locations can be substituted for other groups or locations. 
Some names and organizations can also be used in subject searches.

See a tutorial on library call numbers