Skip to main content

Government Information

Use U.S., state, local or international resources to find information, research info or statistics.

Federal Databases

The Federal Government offers many free databases that search journal articles, conference proceedings, books, etc.  Here are some databases, but more will be added in the future.

Arago is a resource to study in philately and postal operations of the US Postal Service.  Find stamps, the origins of the stamps and digitized artifacts in the operations of the post office. 

Science.gov  searches over 55 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 13 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative data, including research and development results. There is also an all-Spanish version Sciencia which has the same breadth and depth of the research as the English counterpart.

ERIC 

ERIC provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials. If available, links to full text are included. Within the ERIC Collection, you will find records for journal articles, books, conference papers, technical reports, policy paper and other education-relation materials.

NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS) 

The NTRS is a valuable resource for students, educators, researchers, and the public for access to NASA's current and historical technical literature since it was first released in 1994. NTRS provides access to approximately 500K aerospace related citations, 90K full-text online documents, and 111K images and videos. The type of information found in NTRS include: conference papers, images, journal articles, photos, meeting papers, movies, patents, research reports, and technical videos.

Plants Database 

The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, crop information, automated tools, onward Web links, and references.

 

 

MedLinePlus 

 

MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. MedlinePlus gives easy access to medical journal articles, also extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.

 

Market Research Library

This international marketing database provides statistics and background information for marketing research.  Some of the sources require a login and password, which are free once a researcher is registered. 

 

Air Force History Index 

The United States Air Force Historical Research Agency maintains hundreds of thousands of historically significant U.S. Air Force documents of interest to historians, researchers, and Air Force buffs. These include unit histories, special studies, personal papers, end-of-tour reports, oral histories, interview transcripts, and more. This index of 550,000 of these documents represents records held by AFHRA up to 2001.