LIS Cross Search
LIS Cross Search was developed to allow searches in both general databases and specific subject databases for the purpose of comparing results and finding additional terms for more useful results.

Help: Library Account
For library account questions, contact:
Neil Ordinario
Course Reserves Coordinator & Access Services
Email: Neil.Ordinario@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 808-2370
King Library Links
- Create a PINFrom the Accounts page, create a Library PIN by choosing a 4-digit PIN (you'll be asked to enter it twice).
- Student Computing Services CenterTo reset your PIN or for questions about a database which is not working correctly.
- Ask a Librarian (General & Subject Specialist)For general assistance by email, telephone, and 24/7 chat, as well as links to subject specialists (i.e., education, health, justice studies, business, art, etc.)
- Link +If you live near a Link+ library in CA, Reno, or Las Vegas, use this first to borrow books.
- Interlibrary Servicesaka Interlibrary Loan or ILLIAD. Helpful for borrowing books (and getting some articles). King Library can mail books to you (no charge), and you mail them back.
- Course ReservesAccess electronic course reserve materials for your classes.
- WorldCatFind libraries near you with print and electronic resources.
- Access the Library From Off-Campus
Welcome!
This guide is designed to help you with library resources. Use the tabs above for useful resources regularly used by LIS students, faculty, and patrons interested in the library and information topics.
NEWS: Some textbooks are available as ebooks! Check the titles in the LIBR section of the document.
Library Orientation
- King Library OrientationThe Library Orientation includes two videos and four modules about getting started with library materials (approximately 25 minutes).
- L.O.T.S.S.Need a refresher of LIBR 203? Includes three databases: Library Literature & Information Science, ABI/Inform, and Web of Science.
- Distance Library ServicesFor distance students and faculty about getting your library materials from off-campus.
Getting Started with Library Accounts (Distance Learning Guide)
1. Create a Library Account & PIN: Go to the Library Account page and create a 4-digit PIN with your name and SJSU ID number (you will be asked to enter your PIN twice). Remember your PIN -- you will need it for SJSU database and ebook access.
2. Set up an account with Interlibrary Services once you have your Library Account. Set your status correctly; SJSU Distance indicates students or faculty members who are exclusively engaged in online classes.
- SJSU Distance Graduate Students
- SJSU Distance Faculty
3. Set your preferences in Google Scholar, a tool that searches scholarly publications on the Web
- Go to Google Scholar.
- Click on "Scholar Preferences" to the right of the Search button (or under the "gear" icon).
- Under Library Links, type in: San Jose State University.
- Select "San Jose State University – SJSU GetText".
- Under Bibliography Manager, select "Show links to import citations into RefWorks".
- Click "Save preferences."
Or go to the Google Scholar tutorial for a step by step view of this process.
4. Set up an account with RefWorks once you have your Library Account. RefWorks allows you to create a personal database of references and generate bibliographies in a variety of formats. You will need the group code to access RefWorks off campus. (Go to Get Library Passwords).
- Creating a RefWorks Account (library tutorial)
- Troubleshooting Tips (Guide about trusted site messages & pop-up blockers)
- RefWorks 2.0 Fundamentals Tutorial (designed by RefWorks)
All About LibGuides
LibGuides is web 2.0 content management and library knowledge sharing system. Libraries use it to create attractive multimedia content, share knowledge and information, and promote library resources to the community. For more information on LibGuides please visit SpringShare. Let us know what you think about LibGuides by clicking on comments.
Librarian |
Contact Info Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Library One Washington Square San Jose, CA 95192-0028 (408) 808-2094 Marci.Hunsaker@sjsu.edu Send Email Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Library and Information Science Office Hours:: Out of the Office: May 15-June 3. For assistance May 15-May 21, contact Ann.Agee@sjsu.edu, and May 22-June 3, contact Christina.Mune@sjsu.edu. |
Getting Your Materials
These services are useful for students enrolled in distance learning courses.
- Link+ Libraries ListThis link takes you to a list of Link+ member libraries. Distance students will find the Link + service a very useful tool.
- Link+ Visiting Patron programThe Link+ Visiting Patron program allows a patron from a Link+ library to use his/her library card in person at another Link+ library.
- Link+ PickUp ElsewhereLink+ books can be delivered to a library near you, for pickup while you're away from the library where you are registered.
- Interlibrary ServicesInterlibrary Services (formerly Interlibrary Loan) is a free service through which an SJSU distance student or instructor can obtain materials that the Library owns, as well as material owned by other libraries. Books can be mailed to you at a street address (not to a P.O. Box).
- WorldCatFind local libraries for the materials you want!



Loading...
